We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Steppes Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Steppes Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Off Lumber Lane | Lugwardine, Lugwardine, Hereford HR1 4AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lugwardine B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

my sister and i stayed at this b&b. the location was perfect for us ,it was in the country very peaceful , yet not to far to get to Hereford town. Martin and lin were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. it was just like visiting one of your family. The service was perfect and so were the rooms, they were very clean. The acommadation were very disabled friendly, yet not making it feel like you were being singled out. The local taxi firm were very reliable and helpful if you do not want to use your car dueing your stay.There were plenty of information in your room of all the locations and amenities around the area.I would thoughly recommend the Steppes to anyone thinking off staying around the area.Martin and Lin have tried and succeded to accommendate both families , disabled and single alike. We were defiently be going back to the Steppes, time after time . What a fantastic time we had. Thank you Martin , Lin and Sam the dog.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
48
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Neport, Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I booked two nights at the steppes this month with a friend. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We both have mobility problems and we found that the rooms and access to them was very disabled friendly as was the bathroom with the low shower cubicle step to get in. Lin and Martin were fabulous hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them, they went out of their way to make sure you were comfy and had everything you needed. The breakfasts were superb and they made everything just how you wanted it. It was very hot when we were there and we sat in their garden relaxing and chatting and having a laugh with them both. I can't recommend the b+b highly enough. There is not a bad thing to say. Lin and Martin are the perfect hosts and there pets are wonderful. If you like dogs you will fall in love with there little dog. I did.
Will definatly be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Had a great weekend at Hereford staying at the Steppes B&B. We were down visiting friends in a nearby village, so the location was ideal, being close to both Hereford and the countryside. Rooms were spotlessly clean and very well decorated and fitted out, with all the facilities you could ask for, even down to a fridge hidden in the wardrobe with fresh milk! Breakfasts were great and substantial, whipped up in a flash by Lin and Martin, who were wonderful hosts, cheery in the morning but good down-to-earth people. If you are a cat/dog lover they might even introduce you to their lovely pets once you've finished breakfast!

There is very little to criticise about the place, our only comments would be:
1) Our mattress was a bit uncomfortable - felt a bit thin and you could feel some springs - could really do with being replaced.
2) The doors of the rooms open straight outside (which is nice having a private entrance) but they have a window in them with no curtain or blind, so the bright morning light can wake you if you're sensitive to it.

Other than that, we were very happy with our accommodation and would probably stay there if we visit again.

Room Tip: Had a fantastic steak at the pub in the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

It is impossible to find a bad word to say about Lin, Martin and The Steppes. Lin and Martin are the perfect hosts and the rooms are just perfect too. I've travelled extensively through work and stayed in many 5 star hotels, but our weekend at the Steppes felt like we were staying with family. The personal touches, the attention to detail, the idyllic location ensured we had a great time. We had our adult son with us, who has Autism, we also had our dog with us. Martin and Lin looked after the dog whilst we went out and they were great with our son too. The rooms were clean, well appointed and the beds were comfortable. For us it was the perfect place to stay, with the perfect hosts and if we come back to the area we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Steppes is genuinely the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in. Beautifully clean and comfortable rooms, lovely decoration, brilliant showers, comfy beds. But the best thing (and which is so rare) are all the thoughtful personal touches that Lin and Martin have put into the place - fresh milk in your fridge, mini torches on your key ring for coming back late! and fresh eggs from their own chickens at breakfast - (The breakfast is gorgeous by the way!) The location is lovely- beautifully peacefully but so easy get everywhere - please note everyone looking for somewhere to stay in Hereford, that Lugwardine is basically right next to/part of Hereford and should really be listed as such - Tripadvisor please take note! So, it's a very handy location and far beats anything else in the area. Also only a two minute walk to the local village pub. Another great thing is that each room has its own 'front door' so you can come and go as you please and not worry what time you get in. Best of all, Lin and Martin are so welcoming and friendly, and will help you with anything - booking meals, recommendations etc. Also dog friendly which is great - and exceptionally clean. Thank you for a lovely holiday! We so enjoyed our stay and now need to think of an excuse to come back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

As someone who has stayed in many hotels, guest houses and B & B's its always exciting to find a little gem like this. Despite the name lugwardine this is clearly in Hereford so if you are looking for a B & B in Hereford look no further. Booking was simple and direct with Lin, who was very helpful. On arrival, the location is lovely and Lin one of the owners greeted us and showed us our rooms. The rooms were beautifully furnished with good quality furnishings and probably the most cleanest accommodation I have every stayed in. Lin explained where everything was and had even bought in new bedding and I required a different arrangement than the norm. You can clearly see from the room that everything has been set out practically and there is even a mini fridge with fresh milk and a toaster which lin kindly provided bread and butter at no extra cost. It is clear from the start, that they are passionate about their business so much so that you could almost forget that you was a paying guest. The service is excellent. The room is well stocked with coffee, teas and biscuits and they even provide Malvern water. Lin and Martin have thought of everything from the torch on your key so you can see were your walking to a full detailed manual about the b & B, area and facilities. There is wifi and this accommodation would suit both holiday makers and the businessman. Break fast was a delight with locally sourced products including their very own eggs. We really enjoyed our stay here and were quite sad to leave our only gripe was that we hadnt booked longer. Lin and Martin are perfect hosts and could teach so many others how to run a perfect B & B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I'm so pleased to have discovered this lovely place - Lin and Martin the owners are a delight - friendly and warm with a great sense of humour too. The room was lovely - clean, fresh, cosy and with everything I needed. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, with lovely soft pillows and duvet. The room had a fridge which was a welcome surprise with a jug of fresh milk - none of the horrible long life packets here. Breakfast was delicious with eggs laid by their own hens and was cooked to my exact requirements. Lin and Martin were very attentive at breakfast and seemed to really care that I had everything I needed. I came to get away from it all and recharge my weary batteries - it worked a treat, my only regret is that having told my family how great it was they all want to come next time....should have kept this little haven to myself!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Steppes Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steppes Bed & Breakfast

Address: Off Lumber Lane | Lugwardine, Lugwardine, Hereford HR1 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Lugwardine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lugwardine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steppes Bed & Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Herefordshire countryside yet only minutes from Hereford City centre, The Steppes offers you a taste of ancient history at its best, yet keeps you in the luxury you would expect from a top rate bed and breakfast establishment all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Steppes Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast Lugwardine, Hereford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steppes Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.