We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very well looked after” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latchmead Bed and Breakfast

Latchmead Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Latchmead Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Latchmead Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Port Lane, Little Hallingbury CM22 7PQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were very well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Five of us (two couples one single) stayed here for up to four nights using Latchmead as a base for organising a family funeral. This turned out to be a gem amongst a range of not so good local B&Bs. Paola knew our circumstances but went out of her way to be helpful, yet discreet and she's a very committed and friendly host. The external conversions have been done well, the twin room in the house is basic but comfortable and bathroom facilities are absolutely fine, although the twin's is separate. Free wi-fi proved very useful. Breakfasts were excellent from good wholesome continental style to a great full English. Set down a quiet (unsealed) country lane, pub in walking distance (15-20 mins with limited street lighting) and very convenient for Stansted. Caters for the overnight traveller but we were very well looked after for a longer stay. Excellent value, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were looking for a one night stay close to Stanstead - before flying out the next day and this was perfect. Room was very comfortable and warm. Very friendly reception and very helpfully laid out breakfast in the room - so we could make an early departure. Despite being close to Stanstead it was wonderfully quiet - just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay at Latchmead. Very warm and friendly greeting, spacious rooms, good bathroom with fresh fluffy towels, excellent shower and an excellent breakfast to set us up or a long day. Quite location which is just what we needed. Many thanks to the proprietors who could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here one night after attending a wedding at Down Hall Country House Hotel located near by as rooms at hotel were fully booked. The house is located in a very peaceful area and bedroom / bathroom was spotless. Paola was extremely hospitable and friendly and the full cooked English breakfast in the morning was really good as well! Would recommend to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

When my engineers have to come down to our head office they always stay at Latchmead. It is perfect with great views across the countryside. The owners are very friendley and make you feel at home.

Would recommend to anyone also great if your flying from Stansted airport

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My partner and I had a great one night stay at the Latchmead, which is situated in lovely , well kept grounds. We stayed in the Superking room (barn annexe) which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The landlady Paola couldn't be more helpful and accommodating and even allowed us to have a late check-out as we don't often get a lie-in with a 22 month old daughter (who was staying with grandma!). Paola even left us breakfast in the room/fridge so we could help ourselves to in the morning at our leisure. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I would very much recommend Latchmead B&B. It is a great place to stay if you're spending the night in the Stansted airport area. The B&B provides you with a free pick-up service, which is also very handy! I arrived at the B&B quite late at night, so the landlady came to my door with a lovely breakfast tray with fresh coffee, homemade jam and warm bagels the next morning, so that I could sleep a little longer... How wonderful is that! The staff also drove me to the train station (for free) when I had to leave. The room was also very clean, cosy and perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latchmead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latchmead Bed and Breakfast

Address: Port Lane, Little Hallingbury CM22 7PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latchmead Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent bed and breakfast accommodation in the Stansted area with transfers to the airport, Latchmead Guest House is both comfortable and convenient. In the heart of the Essex countryside close to Bishops Stortford and the M11 motorway, the property was built in the 1930s as the spacious farmhouse of a working farm. This family-run accommodation offers modern facilities and a choice of bedrooms, including ground floor 'Annexe' rooms with wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Latchmead Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latchmead Bed And Breakfast Little Hallingbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latchmead Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.