We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PitStop Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The PitStop Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The PitStop Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Morgan Garage | Nr. Bishop's Stortford, Little Hallingbury CM22 7RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great hotel nothing to much trouble the rooms are comfortable very clean and the decor is amazing use of dining area 24hours fully stocked and to top that the showroom of morgan cars is worth a visit i would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends and will be returning myself

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
134
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Pit Stop while we had some work done on our car. Melvyn gave us a detailed guided tour of all the facilities. Our room was fantastic ... Extremely well appointed and with great attention to detail. Wifi, computers and free-view TV is available in your room and a nice big TV in the Diner.

The diner was amazing with a kitchen you would love to have at home. Melvyn gave us a list of local restaurants and take aways .. Most of which deliver. We chose to eat out at the Indian restaurant at Hatfield Heath but could just as easily have had something delivered and dined in the diner. The kitchen is so well equipped that you could also cook yourself.

The fridge and larder were well stocked and we made scrambled egg and toast for breakfast with fresh coffee.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Pit Stop and would stay again if we can .... Now I wonder what other accessories the Morgan needs.

By the way, you don't have to be a car enthusiast to enjoy a stay at the Pit Stop.

Thanks Melvyn and Sindy

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A big thank you to melvin and Sindy for a allowing us to stay in their beautiful, friendly , clean, well maintained hotel. We stayed with our parents for our brothers wedding and it was better than we ever expected . Would definitely recommend the pitstop to anyone, and will return again for sure. Lovely laid back atmosphere and people !!! 5 star all the way !!! Xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were visiting some friends in Essex and wanted to stay in Bishop Stortford for the night . While searching for a hotel in this area we found this on internet. The picture gallery gave an overview of the place and the reviews were great.
Before booking the place I spoke to the owner Melvyn and he was very friendly and helpful.
We booked into the Edwardian room which in fact is a large family room with a four poster bed.
On arrival we were greeted by Sindy and were shown around. The hotel is an extension of an elegant Morgan garage. This adds a lot of charm to the whole place and it depicts an American motel theme.
This hotel has only four rooms and that makes it very special. It is very well decorated with attention to every small detail, especially the period features. It is spotlessly clean and the rooms are specious. The bathroom has walk in shower ( no bath) but it did not matter to us. There is American style kitchen and diner common to all rooms , fully equipped with all the cooking appliances, a big well stocked fridge , dish washer and even a washing machine! There is no pressure to wake up in the morning to get to the breakfast lounge as you make your own breakfast at any time of the day. Also if you wish to eat in house you could bring your own take away and heat it up.

It would be best to phone Melwyn to make sure you get the room of your choice as three of the four rooms are larger.
In summary it is home away from home. It is quiet , friendly and there is no buzz of tourists. We absolutely loved it and we will certainly come back here for a longer break.
Thank you Melwyn and Sindy.

- Andrew and Sharon , Cheltenham

Room Tip: Please phone Melvyn on the hotel phone number to select the room as the booking.com or the tripadvis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

my wife (race participatient), my son (16), my mother (90 years old) and me, we had a brilliant accomodation in the pit stop. the romms are build in excellent handcraftship, with a huge love to details and morgan roadster enthusiasm. the given service was always diskret, but on a high not expected level. especially the pink lady sindy is always underway to keep the rooms and breakfast area in proper conditions. melvyn gave valuable hints and tips about the opportunities in the surrounding, if any guest not tending to the perfect german sportscars, he can get the real english roadsterspirit regardind the extraordinary assembly of new and historic morgan's. in sum, we can recomment without any doubt this lovely place. especially my 90 years old mother was so happy, as really seldom before. thanks sindy and melvyn, if we get a start approval for next year, for the london 100, we will see us again. maria, michael, irene and maurice.

Room Tip: all rooms are in a surprising shape and quality - over 35 degrees over day, it's getting hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I wanted a weekend couples escape from London, but nothing too far or expensive. Having read the trip advisor reviews and seen the website pictures, I came in with high hopes. Everything was absolutely beautiful --even better than I could have imagined. My car enthusiast boyfriend completely loved it.

The quality and care that Melvin & Sindy have put into their B&B is immediately visible. It was a wonderfully relaxing getaway, and I would highly recommend the PitStop to others looking for a unique B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place is the antidote to the sterile chain hotels. Very well decorated and fitted out, and the diner/breakfast concept has already been well described - but it works! No skimping on the food available either, all manner of breads in the freezer, with lots of other things to choose from. A great place to stay, also really handy if you have an early flight from Stansted. Very comfy beds, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The PitStop Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PitStop Boutique Hotel

Address: The Morgan Garage | Nr. Bishop's Stortford, Little Hallingbury CM22 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The PitStop Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique superior accommodation facility for ladies and gentlemen with a motoring flavour. Based in a brand new building, each bedroom has been individually built, finished to the highest standard and decorated in a certain period in time or style, such as Art Deco, Edwardian, modern contemporary or eastern exotic. The huge kitchen has been designed as a fully equipped Amercian diner enjoying furniture and fittings brought over from the USA. The kitchen, with all its equipment is open for full use to the guests and we offer Continental self service breakfast. Free internet access is available in each room using built in PC's. We also have free Wi-Fi for people bringing their own laptop. Secure off road parking, solar heated hot water and lift to the first floor accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The PitStop Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The PitStop Boutique Hotel Little Hallingbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PitStop Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.