We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PitStop Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The PitStop Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The PitStop Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Morgan Garage | Nr. Bishop's Stortford, Little Hallingbury CM22 7RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've now been to the PitStop twice and on each occasion we've been lucky enough to have it to ourselves. It's absolutely magical designed and built to an immensely high standard with high quality fittings and attention to details that we've never experienced anywhere in the world. Melvyn is a fantastic host who clearly loves his creation and justifiably so. Planning are turn visit with friends to sample the delights with more people. If you hesitate in booking here you will miss out on an experience you will never forget .

Room Tip: No spa or pool but can't remove the score
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
149
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I took my son for a surprise birthday treat. He was blown away - as was I. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and spotlessly clean. The Diner is fantastic fun.

Its the perfect place to hire all four rooms and get a gang of friends together for the weekend and hire a Morgan or two for a run out in the lovely surrounding area.

Melvyn - the owner is really friendly.

The PitStop should be on everyone's Bucket List. We are looking forward to returning later this year.

Charlotte Neal Leicestershire

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Really great place. Highly recommend it. Lovely owners- helpful but not intrusive. The oriental/exotic room has a lovely ambiance and was very comfortable. And as for the diner- wow. We found we'd rather hang out in there than go out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgangarage, Owner at The PitStop Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you soooo much for that really great review. Sindy & I thought we would open on New Year's eve just incase somebody wanted to start 2013 with a bang and a great experience at The PitStop, which clearly you both did. Fantastic. The neighbours even had a great firework display which was an added bonus. Looking forward to 2013 to continue the high standards we set, welcoming new and returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay (New Year's Eve) at the Pitstop which exceeded all our expectations. We had read the reviews beforehand and this gem of a place really surpasses everywhere we have stayed previously. A warm and friendly greeting upon our arrival was provided by Melvyn, a genuinely lovely man with a passion for all he does at the hotel and of course, the array of Morgan cars. We were shown to our room, the Family Room, where the centrepiece was a massive but extremely comfortable four poster bed, with enough room to accommodate a further 2-4 people if needed. The en-suite bathroom, a wet-room, was immaculate and spotlessly clean, but it was the lovely added touches provided by Melvyn and Sindy (these included blackout blinds in the bedroom) that made our promised experience so very special. Following check-in Melvyn then took us on a brief tour of the place, and showed us another art-deco styled room, each room cleverly offering a different theme, yet all equally stunning. The piece-de-resistance though has to be the American-styled diner/ kitchen area, where we saw the amazing range of Morgan memorabilia decorating the walls of the room. Melvyn provided an excellent explanation of the facilities and food available for us to cook (24 hours a day if we wanted) and the warm reassurance that he or Sindy were on-hand if needed at any time. Following breakfast the next day Melvyn allowed us to view part of his prized Morgan collection, a range of simply stunning and amazingly maintained cars stored in the showroom underneath the bedrooms, you really didn't need to know anything about the cars as the passion demonstrated by Melvyn was obvious as he shared several stories of his experiences with us. Although we didn't get to meet Sindy on this occasion, Melvyn and her have created a unique and really lovely place which we can't wait to return to. Thank you to you both for a most incredible stay, we look forward to our next visit.
Bev & Derek C

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apbush4
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked as a birthday treat, So glad I did what a wonderful find. Every room very different with know expense spared, attention to detail in every part of this great B&B, very clean, everything you need is there I found all the little touches in the room made it a very comfortable stay. Good quality bedding very comfortable bed, nice thick towels. Had a good nights sleep here. Also the diner is fascinating you can sit and look around the walls at all the memorabilia for ages. Good selection for breakfast and a nice idea to help you self when your ready, which means you can have a lie in instead of charging up for breakfast. We had a wander around the garage below to have a look at the fantastic Morgan cars, a fascinating stay. The hosts Melvyn & Sindy are freindly and helpful.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked an overnight at the Pitstop as a surprise for my husband's birthday. We weren't disappointed. It's a great place. The Morgans are an added bonus. Melvyn was very welcoming and the hotel is really lovely. The rooms are all different and we stayed in the 'Drop Head'. The American diner is fabulous. We both really enjoyed the visit.

Room Tip: Saw all of the rooms and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the pitstop on a business trip, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I was made to feel extremely welcome, and as a Morgan owner myself I loved all the associated memorabilia, admiring the cars and talking to Melvyn, but you wouldn't have to be a morgan fanatic to appreciate this B&B. Everything was spotlessly clean, the room very quiet and comfortable and I had a very restful time. I'll definitely be back.

Giles, Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The PitStop Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PitStop Boutique Hotel

Address: The Morgan Garage | Nr. Bishop's Stortford, Little Hallingbury CM22 7RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The PitStop Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique superior accommodation facility for ladies and gentlemen with a motoring flavour. Based in a brand new building, each bedroom has been individually built, finished to the highest standard and decorated in a certain period in time or style, such as Art Deco, Edwardian, modern contemporary or eastern exotic. The huge kitchen has been designed as a fully equipped Amercian diner enjoying furniture and fittings brought over from the USA. The kitchen, with all its equipment is open for full use to the guests and we offer Continental self service breakfast. Free internet access is available in each room using built in PC's. We also have free Wi-Fi for people bringing their own laptop. Secure off road parking, solar heated hot water and lift to the first floor accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The PitStop Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The PitStop Boutique Hotel Little Hallingbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PitStop Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.