We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like clean rooms don't bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Letchworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Broadway Hotel
Save
You added The Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
The Broadway, Letchworth SG6 3NZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“If you like clean rooms don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The hotel looks OK on the website and downstairs isn't bad, if a little grubby. Upstairs the room was desperately in need of a good clean, the bedlinen was torn and threadbare. The walls are paperthin, which wasn't helped by the clearly angry "lady" next door who remained angry until 345am from the sound of it! Not a great nights sleep. If you do stay, don't take a room on the front of the hotel as thats really noisy too. No double glazing on a main road isn't great.
The only good part is the breakfast, although that was spoiled by a grey curly hair in my tea cup!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
17
32
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

As a woman travelling alone on business, it has been a welcome relief to find a hotel like the Broadway. There is a warm and relaxing feel to the place and the staff and surroundings make you feel totally at ease if dining or spending the evening alone.

I have stayed 3 times this year on business and have been looked after superbly on each occasion. The hotel has a family run feel to it and all the staff are welcoming and helpful.

The Carvery is obviously popular as the restaurant is busy and there are some lovely dishes on the a la carte menu, I can recommend the Pork Belly!

Breakfast is generous and included in the room price. Although the bedrooms are a little dated, they are of a good standard, clean and well equipped. All the bathrooms appear modern and newly decorated. The bar and restaurant areas are contemporary and tastefully designed.

I met up with some work colleagues during my last stay and we discovered a fantastic Italian restaurant and cosy little wine bar only a few minutes away from the hotel. It's great to be able to stay in such a central location and not be stuck out in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Broadway last week-end with four other couples for our friend's wedding. The civil wedding, sit-down meal and evening reception were all at the hotel and we all agreed that it was the best wedding any of us had attended in a long time.
The day was perfect and ran smoothly, the meals were delicious and all the staff were friendly, efficient and attentive.
All the double rooms we stayed in were comfortable, clean and spacious and great value for money for a town centre location. In the morning, there was a choice of a hot Full English Breakfast,which we all enjoyed after a long night of drinking and dancing or you could choose to have a continental breakfast or order what you fancied from the waitress.
Every aspect of our two night stay was pleasant and we would definitely choose the Broadway Hotel again if attending another function in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We made a last minute booking for a twin room, and found ourselves on the top floor with a new bathroom with a window that wouldn't close and a shower above the bath that was worse than useless. No we didn't complain we hadn't the energy to go down in the noisy claustrophobic lift and we were only staying one night after all.

Breakfast had been put out long before we got downstairs and was not refreshed while we were eating, the scrambled egg was dreadful.

The hotel was in the centre of Letchworth with free parking and the carvery looked and smelt good. This was obviously the strength of the business at the expense of the guests, such a shame.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Hotel clean with fairly spacious rooms (all new ensuite bathrooms). Staff pleasant and good value restaurant on site. For the money you pay, it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Waited ages to be checked in - bar staff just ignored me.
Single room was the awful L shape, with corner taken off for ensuite. TV at right-angles to bed, which was very uncomfotable to watch from the bed.
Carvery meal was OK. Down side was that my meal was half eaten before I was brought the drink I ordered when I was seated.
Breakfast not enjoyable. Cereal tasted stale.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Letchworth hotels

essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We have just spent a night at this hotel and it is the worst hotel experience of my life. the whole hotel stunk of urine (especially in the stairways). Our room overlooked a biffa bins which also wafted scent towards the only window in the room. The beds were so uncomfortable that we did not manage to get much sleep at all. There were stains on the bed and the bedside lamp shade had all tears in it. Once it was light in the room it highlighted that the room was swarming in flies. It was truely an awful experience. What ever you do not STAY in this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: The Broadway, Letchworth SG6 3NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style newly refurbished 36 bedroom hotel and busy restaurant. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.