We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Letchworth Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Letchworth Hall to your Saves list
Mercure Letchworth Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday night with another couple - we both had Amazon local deal with prosecco, check in wasnt busy but I would imagine if it was a queue would soon form although to be fair the staff were friendly but just need to speed up slightly. The first room were were given was very dark (think it was 55) so we asked to be moved, which was accommodated without any fuss, 2nd room 32 in new block overlooking the front was fine, very light and airy, bit noisy in the morning and I guess would be even more if staying when a wedding or function was taking place with peoople loading up their cars to leave. Have stayed here twice before and overall this visit was just as good. We didnt use the pool area as it was such a nice day we walked into the town. The evening meal was very good slighty let down by the presentation of the main meals, the starter, dessert and cheese were all presented lovely but the main looked like it had just been chucked on the plate with half a sack of potatoes which put my husband off his meal, the actual taste was fine. We will stay again but note comments re presentation for food. we did mention it to the restaurant manager but she said that if are paying the supplement for dinner they like to make sure you have a big plate of food - not everyone wants a great big plate of food in front ot them. It was nice to be able to have your wine chilled to enjoy your evening meal if you wanted to although it wasnt made clear that was an option, we just happened to ask. Very good choice for breakfast. It was the first time our friends had stayed and they enjoyed thier viisit and would stay again but in a different room they were in the old block and were woken by the bin men quite early but their actual room was very nice and with two windows which made it bright and airy. Beds are also very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent visit.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    259
    127
    74
    29
See reviews for
94
381
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

we had a wowcher deal the hotel is in beautiful grounds the room was good we had a lot of difficulty every timewe ordered a drink from the bar sometimes we had to sign for our drinks and not other Next Nex times when we went to check out we had someone elses drinks on our bill. RECEPTION seemed to think i was making afuss over this I think recetion people were not friendly at all. Staff in dining room were very friendly food was excellent. We stayed in grounds as there was a wedding and sat on terrace. following morning all the chairs that had been moved around were still in the same position no one had bothered to come out and put the chairs back around the tables or even swept the floor. did not clean and take away dirty glasses or plates from tables that were on the grass.

Room Tip: w stayed in room 3 very nice but some of the lights in bathroom did not work e
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Anthony

Thank you for taking the time to contact us following your recent departure from Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and please be assured that the relevant Heads of Departments and training will take place to ensure that situations similar to this do not re-occur.

Once again thank you for your email and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Jacobean house and gardens were very pleasent as we arrived. We booked for afternoon tea for my mother in laws 90th birthday. The room we were in was very comfortable and very relaxed. We will at some point try the restaurant in the evening as it looked very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Xcitta,

It's nice to read that we provided a relaxing venue for your Mother In-Laws 90th Birthday. I do hope that she enjoyed her day. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when you have the opportunity to try out our Restaurant.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Tired, drab and in need of TLC. My colleagues Booked a meeting room for a day, which turned out to be a bedroom. Second meeting the following day we were allocated....a slightly larger bedroom! 8 people booked in for the night only to be told initially we couldn't be accommodated in the restaurant and would have to eat in the bar... Finally, common sense prevailed and miraculously, a table became free! Bare wires in the corridors, walking through untidy hall ways to get to bedroom which had an unsavoury odour and an interesting approach to health and safety given there was no handle on the window and it has to be pulled to by means of a bare screw and would close! Thank goodness I didn't come here with the family!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Lyn,

I was disapointed and sorry to read about your experience while attending a meeting at our Hotel. As such this morning I took the opportunity to call the Gentleman on whose behalf the meeting room was booked for. Following this conversation myself and the Hotel have a much better understanding of your needs, in addition we are clear about the service areas we need to address in the Restaurant. As such I am sure that should you be due to attend another meeting with your company at our Hotel you and your colleagues should have no concerns and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 7 times in last year every time treated as a first time guest every time. staff polite and friendly hotel set in lovely grounds restaurant dinning & breakfast you can not fault and bonus gym pool sauna steam.its a hidden gem


Ian doughlin

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello Ian,

Thankyou for your sparking review of our Hotel, it's fantastic to read that you have visited so many times and felt special on each occasion. We trust that you will continue to do so for many years to come and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Only 2 nights in this hotel (Groupon voucher) and wished we had the time and cash to stay longer. Wonderful surroundings. Lovely, helpful staff everywhere. Great room though air con not brilliant so we had a fan on all night (53) Amazing food both at night and at breakfast. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for newer refurbished room but check air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Annette,

Thankyou for your glowing review of our Hotel, it's great to read that you wish you could have stayed longer, loved the surrounding, enjoyed all the food and had a really great room. As always we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Many Thanks

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is on the edge of Letchworth, with some lovely views over gardens / countryside / golf courses, though it does mean it's a 15 min walk from the nearest bus stop. It's built around a grand old building, largely tastefully extended. Rooms have recently been done up, and are in good condition.

Attached to the hotel is a huge leisure club with pool and sauna, well worth a visit. Loads of machines in the gym, pool is hot but fine for a short swim, and the sauna's nice after a gym session. Plan some time to go!

The restaurant is excellent. Staff were really friendly, helpful and attentive. The menu is large enough to give a good choice, and with plenty of interesting dishes. When they come, they're very well presented, and taste excellent. Don't worry about being a few miles from the nearest other restaurant, you'll want to eat here! If you can, add dinner onto your hotel stay when booking, can be great value that way. Breakfast isn't bad either.

Only problem with the hotel is reception. Checkin took a surprisingly long time, and there was a huge queue. Checkout had a long queue too, then when it was my turn they'd got the bill completely wrong, and took rather a long time to correct it. Given the main things you want from reception are a quick checkin, a quick checkout and the correct bill, they failed on all the key things.

If the hotel can fix their reception, it'll be an amazing hotel. As it is, it's great but not perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Gagravarr,

Thankyou for your kind review of our Hotel. It was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed the Hotel, the rooms, the views and the Leisure facilities. It is always pleasing to read positive comments towards the staff and it is nice to see that your experience was no exception. Gagravarr I will look into your concerns over the reception team and I am sure that if you have the opportunity to visit us again we will merit the 'amazing' tag you mention in your review. Once again many thanks for your kind comments.

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Letchworth Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.