We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Letchworth Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Letchworth Hall to your Saves list
Mercure Letchworth Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our overnight stay was a special anniversary present from our daughter & family, on arrival our booking had not been put on the system together with no booking in the restaurant for evening meal/breakfast although I had rang the previous day to confirm and ask about hairdryers in the room,after waiting for two members of staff and some time later to sort out and find a room which had a fire escape door next to it which was open and the cross bar was broken and hanging off which we reported and asked to be moved making our check in even more delayed.
During all this time we had no real sincere apologies from the staff or any member of management, our booking included a bottle of cava on arrival in our room after two reminders and a 3rd at 10.30pm a bottle of cava arrived! later at night staff were empty bottles into bins. The evening meal and breakfast was very good and very relaxed,,sadly guest service apologies was lacking and very disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms away from service areas and outside refuge areas, with good natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following yourrecent visit to Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you and your husband during your stay with us. Please be assured that this is not the normal level of service that we aim to provide our guests with. I will be investigating the matter with the Front Office Manager and measures will be put in place to ensure that situations similar to this do not re-occur.

Should you have the oppurtunity to stay in Letchworth or the surrounding area in the near future please do not hesitate in contcating me directly and I will be delighted to make the nescessary arrangements for you.

Once again my apologies for this matter as a whole and I do hope that we have the oppurtunity in welcoming you back to Letchworth Hall in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    259
    127
    74
    29
See reviews for
94
381
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My friend and I stayed here on a Groupon deal and we very pleased with most things.
We had full use of the the leisure facilities for our stay, but I wouldn't describe it as a spa. The changing rooms were fabulous - clean, modern and very well maintained. The pool was good but we didn't make use of the gym or sauna. Sadly, there was no jacuzzi which would have made the experience perfect.
The hotel room was excellent. Comfortable beds, plenty of clean, fluffy towels and toiletries left out in the bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities plus a bottle of water and a flapjack were a welcome surprise too!
The only grumble worth mentioning was the wifi, or lack of! The hotel advertises free wifi in the spa and hotel. We could not connect in either place. According to reception, there shouldn't have been a problem, and one could indeed connect at the front desk. But as soon as we got to our room, the signal disappeared completely. Not a huge issue for some people perhaps, but we were disappointed. Maybe stating Wifi available in some areas would be a fairer representation of the truth.
Great restaurant with a broad selection of dishes to choose from for our evening meal. It was all beautifully presented and generally good. The puddings were divine! We also enjoyed breakfast. We got there a little late in the day, but there was still a selection of hot food available to choose from.
Incidentally, reception didn't take a credit card swipe again (see a previous review) which meant a waitress had to chase after us late one evening. It's something that Reception really ought to do and has obviously been a problem before. Staff training moment...
We had great value for money and can highly recommend a stay here. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you want wifi, don't stay in room 29!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope that we can have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Letchworth Hall in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Execllent rooms, breakfast and WIFI - all you need for a business trip. The added bonus of the health cliub next door makes this hotel perfect for a business trip - I only wich I could get in more often.
Rates vary hugely night to night so best to book in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent departure from Letchworth Hall Hotel.,

I was delighted to read that you enjoy your time with us and I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we arrived our rooms were not ready(We hoped they would be, so we could go for a swim with the grandchildren) so instead took up a big space in the lounge(so much luggage etc), where the staff really looked after us and the children, lunch was very good, all 4 rooms were very nice, we used the pool later, before our evening meal, which again was very good. After dinner just both sets of grandparents along with one son-inlaw enjoyed a few more drinks in the very nice bar. After a very good breakfast we went for another swim and all agreed we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Redtoenail

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to read that yourself and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your grandchildren were a delight and the offer to babysit still stands.

I will pass your kind comments onto the team and I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Letchworth Hall very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a short break at letchworth - room brilliant , shower excellant but please tell me where the sensor is in the magic bathroom lights !!!!! Perfect location for touring the area . Loved the wild life - mr and mrs duck and babies!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LetchworthHall, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family and friends visited the hotel and restaurant at the beginning of the Easter holidays 2014. We all had a great time. The rooms were so clean and the beds were comfortable. We had afternoon tea and was served by Hannah who made our day. Later we had dinner and again the staff done everything they could to ensure we had a great time. The older breakfast waiter made sure we had lots if tea and a laugh in the mornings. The leisure centre is best by far which we all used, and the setting for walks is brill. We went shopping in Brent Cross which is around 40 mins away and we also visited the local cinema which is only five minutes away. I have visited many hotels across England but this is the only one that I have wanted to leave a comment about. The hotel is a great location, especial for a couple of relaxing days, the staff were brilliant and the service was exceedingly good which made a memorable break for us all.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LetchworthHall, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Kevin on reception greeted us warmly and was most efficient - thank you to him!. In fact all the staff were excellent, as were the leisure facilities and the food (we had dinner and breakfast and both were very good, particularly the breakfast which is one of the best I've had at a chain hotel). BUT beware - our room was minute and was really not up to four-star standard, with MDF furniture, cheap carpet and terrible, tasteless pictures. Nice view of the garden if you knelt in the chair in front of the window which was the only place they could fit it, blocking in the other chair provided for the desk. The room was really only suitable for one person! Also no bath, only a shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to the Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was so pleased to read your comments about our staff, especially baout Kevin. He is a valued member of staff here at the hotel and he will be delighted when he reads your comments as it shows that all his hard work is appreciated.

I was disapointed to read your comments about the room that you have stayed in. I have never before heard our bedroom furniture being referred to a "cheap MDF" but I appreciate your feedback and it is certainly something that I will take on board. On the next occassion you have reason to visit the hotel please do not hesitate in contacting me directly and I will be delighted to personally ensure that we find a room that is up to your standards.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that myself and the team have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Letchworth Hall again in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Letchworth Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.