We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Letchworth Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Letchworth Hall to your Saves list
Mercure Letchworth Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This first was our first visit here. We arrived (08/03/14) with our 4 friends, the rooms were well spacious.
From the arrival to departure the staff here were excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them. The meal in the evening was bar far one of the best that we have had, the breakfast was also excellent as the food was hot and plentiful. We will definitely return later this year.
Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Third Floor in the 80s were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LetchworthHall, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    229
    116
    66
    26
See reviews for
84
334
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a one-night stay in the Mercure Letchworth Hall hotel, which we really enjoyed. The room was a good size, clean, modern, and well equipped, including air conditioning. It looked as if it had been redecorated quite recently, as did the public areas, which were similarly well presented. The part leading to the restaurant is obviously old, with lots of character. No complaints about the food, which was excellent. Dinner in the Lytton's Restaurant was good quality, with a varied choice, and the food was beautifully presented. Breakfast was buffet style, with a full range of hot and cold dishes to choose from, which all looked to be excellent quality. All the staff we met were friendly and professional. And the sun was shining today, so the view out of our window was delightful! Overall, really very good and most definitely recommended if you want a relaxing short break.

Room Tip: In some of the rooms the window doesn't open, for health and safety reasons we were told. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LetchworhHall, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I used to stay here quite a bit, but after a couple of bad experiences about a year ago I stopped. I finally decided to give it a try again. In short, it's still not perfect, but it's much improved, and worth trying again if like me you'd given up on it.

The fitness centre here is excellent, with a nice pool and sauna + steam room, which is certainly a plus. The restaurant food for dinner is interesting, well done, and not a bad price for dinner. Breakfast sadly isn't up to the same standard, but given the location they're perhaps taking advantage of a mostly captive market. Refurbished rooms are nice, and the internet works properly now, but isn't as fast as some of the other hotels in the area offer. Checkout remains an issue - not sure I've ever had a correct bill here, so allow extra time for that (this trip I was on a package with dinner included, but they still tried to charge me for it!). Le Club points came through within a few days, which is a first for here, so the checkin/checkout stuff is improving, just not yet perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_LetchworthHall, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. If you would like to contact me direct at the hotel with your reservation details, I will be happy to find out what happened with your charges.

I do hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is our second visit,the first being in January for my birthday it was a travelzoo voucher
We enjoyed our stay so went back for a family celebration this was Saturday and it was hugely busy but even though the hotel must have been full the service and food were great
Our room had been renovated it was huge and the bathroom was lovely fantastic shower
My daughter had the family suite which was big enough to live in
There was a disco downstairs under our room it was noisy but it finished by 12 so that was ok
I am very impressed that the staff made it seem so easy to accommodate so many people and doing so very efficiently
I will stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were in a party of 12 stayed here for the weekend to meet up with old friends.
The staff worked really hard to please.
Our rooms were clean and well equipped.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and a great breakfast buffet. We'll done.
We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34 which was very quiet but would think all rooms would be the same due to the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Attended a wedding at the Letchworth Hall Hotel. The hotel is a beautiful historical building, with some great reception rooms. Our double bedroom was a little tired, the bed dipped in the middle and pillows were like rocks, and there was a stain on the sheet but as we were only staying one night this didn't really matter, but we would not have been comfortable if we were to stay any longer.

The breakfast was a buffet breakfast with a large selection of cooked and cold food. Ver nice.

The staff were all very polite and professional.

As we didn't pay the full price for 1 nights stay with breakfast, we really can't complain, but would we have paid the full price, we may have had something to say during our stay.

Room Tip: Just check your bed, bedding and pillows before you settle into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Reading your comments, I am saddened to hear of your experience. Needless to say, this is not the level of service we aim to deliver.

I will be discussing your experience with the team and I do hope we may have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

kind regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The lounge area had a lovely, romantic feel with a fire heating it. However, it was very busy and so we had to sit in the additional, smaller bar area, which was not so romantic. We were standing in a queue at the bar for AGES as there did not seem to be enough staff. The bar staff did not know how to make any cocktails, which was surprising for a hotel bar, and a little disappointing. I had a pimms and lemonade, which was about £8!

The room (standard double) was great. We had a lovely view over the gardens and a surplass of cushions. There was a bottle of prosecco with glasses waiting for us - presumably instead of the advertised minibar. We did not drink this as my husband cannot drink alcohol so I don't know how much it would have cost!

For breakfast we ordered room service. It was delivered 10 minutes after the time slot we chose, and without our danish pastries or any cutlery other than tea spoons! Quite problematic for eating sausages, cereal and yoghurt! The food itself was tasty, if lukewarm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Reading your comments, I am saddened to hear of your experience. Needless to say, this is not the level of service we aim to deliver.

I will be discussing your experience with our Food & Beverage team and I do hope we may have the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

kind regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Letchworth Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.