We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel just off the A1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Letchworth Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Letchworth Hall to your Saves list
Mercure Letchworth Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Lincoln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel just off the A1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

(Stayed 31May) Having stopped at a Travelodge and Pub near Cambridge the previous two days (already reviewed those), we ended our 3 night break by moving about 30miles to Hertfordshire. We chose this as it was just off the A1, handy for our journey home. It was also very reasonably priced.

Reception (I think) is the original ancient hall and it's beautiful. the rest has been added on in the same style. Very big car park so no problems parking. We were a bit early but our room was ready. Lovely stylish room and having got back ache from the previous two nights it was a delight to have a sumptuous bed. The rainforest shower was fantastic as well.

There's not a great deal in the area but we walked into Letchworth Garden City (about 40mins) past very expensive looking houses. Not a lot there but it was a lovely sunny day and we sat outside a pub for a bit.

On our return we decided to make use of the gym. We had a nice swim (supposedly heated but certainly not warm). We also tried the steam room (great experience) and the sauna. Gym use was free for hotel guests.

Through the bar there is a lovely terrace and grassed area with tables to sit at. Drink prices typically very expensive but no shock. And being blessed with a warm sunny day it was worth it, very peaceful. We'd booked with the hotel chain direct and they'd offered a 2 course for £15 evening meal deal in the hotel restaurant (Lyttons) which we did. I opted for the special which was "shoulder of pork". This turned out to be basically a roast pork dinner but it was beautifully constructed into a tower on a sea of gravy. It was delicious and the wife was jealous as she had opted for fish, which though tasty wasn't as substantial. The desserts were both scrummy.

Had a beer in the bar to finish the evening and then it was back to my beautiful mattress to ease my aching back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LincolnKev

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent visit to Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    259
    127
    74
    29
See reviews for
94
381
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Mercure Letchworth is just off the A1 easy to get too and set in lovely surroundings. The check in area is too small for the size of the hotel but it’s an old building so this is the best that can be offered.
The restaurant offers an excellent choice of food that is well prepared but you pay £30.00 for three courses which is very good but nearly everything you want has an extra supplement charge so the £30.00 per head soon becomes £50.00.
If you are an Accor Favourite Guest Card make sure you ask for your drinks voucher as every time I stay here you have to keep on reminding them this, even though you pay for this privilege. Once you go to the bar to order your drinks make sure that the staff take it off the bill as last time and the time before the mature lady behind the bar (who is not a people person and I don’t think been trained on customer service) does not take the drink off and then in the morning when you check out you have double check your bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay and please be assured that I will be discussing your concerns with the relevant Departmental Managers and retraining will be done with all team members to ensure that similar situations do not re-occur.

I would also like to remind you that Accor Favourite guests are not entitled to the complimentary arrival drink within the Mercure brand and this is why we no longer give our Club members the vouchers. If you have any queries about your membership entitlements throughout the Accor brand please look at the terms and conditions of your membership.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The room location was excellent but unfortunately the key card never worked so it was always a trip down back to reception for them to reset it. Our in room safe was not working and we was told it would be fixed the next day this never happened. On the Saturday evening they was no hot water for a shower we told reception but again this could not be rectified before we were due to go out for the evening. On the Sunday we could not access the bar area without a detour because of a wedding. On the Monday at breakfast the head waiter was very off hand. The Buffett breakfast was terrible, the breakfast bar was really messy and breakfast items were either overdone or did not exist. The head waiter was very rude to a young guest who came to breakfast in shorts. He shouted at him that he was not at the seaside and should not turn up for breakfast dressed like that, surely the young man should have been taken to one side and explained to him the dress code. I was very embarrassed perhaps the head waiter who I must say even though he was in a suit he still looked shabby should
Have some lessons in how to talk to people, he seemed to treat the staff under him has dirt. Overall I think the hotel has up their standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Krakow

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay and for this I would to offer you my sincerest apologies and also assure you that this is not the normal level of service that we aim to provide here.

I am hoping that we can discuss your concerns in more detail. Would it be possible for you to contact me on l.kearney@mercureletchworth.com so that we can do this.

Once again thank you for your candid review and I am looking forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here to attend a golden wedding party and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and comfortable and very clean. The staff were very helpful and when we asked for some ice for our room, it arrived almost immediately.
The only problem, we found, was the price of the drinks from the bar which were very expensive.
The buffet food was excellent but unfortunately the tables were cleared long before the end of the party and all the food that hadn't been eaten was taken away and there was a lot left over! Prospective party givers please make sure that you ask for the food to be left until the end of the party.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel and the anniversary party that you attended whilst here.

We have taken your comments about the party food on board but would like to advise that under food safety laws we are only allowed to leave food out in the open for a certain period of time before we have to take it away, which was the case during your event.

Myself and the team here would like to thank you once again for your review and do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Given a choice and when driving I prefer staying here when on business in Stevenage. I like the David Lloyd leisure centre (free for guests) and I like the food. I love the quiet and the country location. The rooms I have had have all been as expected for a Mercure branded hotel. Trying to find a hotel with leisure facilities to match this hotel on our corporate hotel list near Stevenage is difficult and this is the only real option.

On the niggles side; the reception is tiny, you keep reversing into other business travellers and tripping over bags, elbowing each other signing invoices etc. The bar could be better laid out, it doesn't make best use of the space available but it is an old building. If it is raining, you will get soaked getting from the car park to the reception, and to the leisure centre. Or lost inside trying to navigate. Other niggles are the lack of vending machines (even discreet ones) apart from in the leisure centre if you just want a can of coke or a mars bar as shops are a drive away.

Food is pricey and room rates vary significantly and booking early is essential. It is also always full of corporate training functions for a well known electricity company. Without fail they are there when I am.

Room Tip: Always had a good room. Rooms looking over golf course have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay here that Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoy your time with us when you stay.

I would like to apologise for the little "niggles" that you have experienced. As you are aware the hotel is a listed building and we are unable to change some of the features, including the layout of the reception area but we do feel that we have made the best use of the space that we have. I would also like to thank you for the remainder of your feedback, we will take it on board and see if we can make any changes that will be relevanat to the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to place your review and i do hope that myself and the team can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This large three storey hotel, just off the A1M, is an old country house with a large extension which includes a leisure centre. Altogether it is rather sprawling and somewhat difficult to find your way around at first. However there are well sited lifts, plenty of stairways and good signage to help you. Look out for the lifts - the doors are on both sides of the lift compartment! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms very well equipped with plenty of storage, furniture and a large comfortable double bed. There was a particularly wide choice of food in the large breakfast area and plenty of staff to help you. My only moan was that the accommodation was very expensive. You have to pay a lot over the average for the extra facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear DickColeman60

I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay here at the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything met with your expectations and I do hope that myself and the team have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Organised a last minute afternoon tea visit and was very impressed.

A lovely selection of classic afternoon tea sandwiches, several types of scone with jam and clotted cream and various different cakes. All freshly made (the scones were still a bit warm, yum!) and washed down with a good selection of teas including a very nice fruity one.

Hotel is in a nice peaceful setting and the lounge used for the tea was very pleasant and full of character. A very enjoyable visit. Worth searching online though as I found out when paying that you can find 241 vouchers to use.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear JW1983

I was delighted to read your review following your recent visit to the hotel. All of us here agree with you about the afternoon tea, it is delicious and we have to be very careful not to sneak little bits of it out of the kitchen on a daily basis, especially when the scones come straight out of the oven.

Thank you again for your review and I do hope that myself and the team have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Letchworth Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.