We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well trained staff and luxury resturant make this a pleasant stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Letchworth Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Letchworth Hall to your Saves list
Mercure Letchworth Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Well trained staff and luxury resturant make this a pleasant stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As you drive in there’s a curious mix of unimpressive new bedroom blocks and olde-world charm from the Jacobean hall. Check-in was fast and efficient from the friendly Ola. The room was modenish chain hotel, with all the bits you need. Previous reviews commented on hard beds; our was anything but and we found it very comfortable.

The restaurant is worthy of 5 star London status. The maitre d was cool and calm, the waiting staff efficient and unobtrusive. The menu was not huge but covers most tastes. The kitchen service was particularly quick and the food presented beautifully. The taste of the food was fabulous, on really hot plates (always a sign of quality). The home-made soup was shear quality, as was the beef wellington. The dining charge is £30/head; I’d have paid £60 (and I’m really mean) it was that good.

Management need to sort out breakfast service. The hotel must have been full and most people descended at the popular 09:30 slot. The hot breakfast platters where placed in a queue at the front of the cold stuff. We queued for 10/15 minutes, snaking round people in the Great Hall. Everybody was complaining. The food itself was hot and well cooked, when you reached it. Why not arrange 2 queuing stations in the bar area, so that people are not queuing for breakfast?

This hotel could be a really nice 4 star plus experience, given the well trained staff and luxury restaurant. Worth a visit if you go on a discount deal.

Room Tip: Book a resturant table upon arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service you received - we will definitely look at the breakfast set-up though as it can get very crowded indeed on week-ends!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    229
    117
    66
    26
See reviews for
84
335
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this through Groupon and it included an over night stay for 2 a 3 course meal and bottle of wine for £79. We had a very nice room, clean and spacious. We started our evening with drinks in the hotel bar/lounge was very nice and lovely and relaxing. Then we had dinner in the conservatory which is really nice and airy. The food was amazing i had the beef wellington which was a special and can say it was the best ive tasted. My husband had the surf and turf as his main and he said his was also outstanding. We both had the creme brulee for dessert and that was also amazing. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was buffet style with the usual cereals and hot food which was very nice and lots to choose from. We had a really great stay and cant wait to return. The groupon deal is fantastic value for money and would highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 68 and it was a few minutes walk from reception but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read that your husband birthday treat was a success and that you enjoyed your stay with, as well as the quality of the food and service you received. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although we purchased this one night break as a special Groupon Deal, I am glad we did not book this as a special evening or venue: despite it being my husband's birthday, this was a stop over on the way home from the main pressie - and boy was I glad we had already had an excellent day!
Nice room, big, clean, comfy bed, powerful shower: everything you would expect from a hotel.
However, it was the organisation and dinner that was a big let down.
We were told that our alloted time was 9.30 for dinner and there was NO deviation from that (it was packed full -all based on Groupon deal I would imagine). I had not been asked my preference at original booking tiem weeks before and would have hoped I would have been - but no - we had to wait until 9.30.
We were then seated SO CLOSE to other diners, crammed into the dining areas, it was really uncomfortable.
Then were were rushed through a luke warm starter for OH and inedible 'salad' for me (not as advertised nor edible); luke warm and greasy salmon (luckily the extras we ordered were hot); plain and uninspiring cheesecake. 2 of the original meals we chose were sold out (i suppose it was quite late), but we were not told this before we spent time choosing - annoying. Water in jug warm. Had to ask for it twice.
We were last in the dining room so tables were stripped and set up for breakfast all around us - and we had only been in there an hour: rushed and rude. Not a good Birthday dinner at all.
We were not looking foward to a similarly poor experience at breakfast so we ordered room service - on time, most things ordered were there, all edible but lukewarm (maybe something about lukewarm food here is popular with other diners...?) Only saving grace was hot freshly cooked kipper.
Yes staff were polite; yes place nice and pretty main areas; yes bedrooms good. BUT if you pay full price - beware. If you do a massive deal and get lots of guests - still keep up the main standards or the reason (publicity) is poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your honest comments and I can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. The offers we have put forward have been very successful, so much so that we had to extend the validity of the December offer until the end of January and I must say that we are already full every week-end this month! This should not affect the service we provide to you but clearly you did not enjoy your stay fully because of it.
Once again please accept my apologies and please contact me directly if you would like to stay with us again later in the year,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have eaten three times in this hotel although never stayed. Each time the food and service was excellent. All served in a lovely country style surroundings, it makes a superb venue for meeting up with friends. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments - I am glad to hear that you enjoy visiting us on a regular basis and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A Groupon deal and worth every penny. The meal was superb. The "special" was Beef Wellington and one of the best I have tasted. Full marks to the chef. Good full English breakfast. The bedroom was on the ground floor and very good, apparently a "refurbished" room. The service generally was excellent. The main building was a 16th century manor house and many original features have been retained, I hope it stays that way. Bar snacks and afternoon tea are available and a nice bar and loungr area to eat them There are nice grounds. There is a modern leisure centre attached though we did not avail ourselves of this.

As a Groupon deal the value was excellent. At full price not so much so but you can see why the hotel commands a good price.

There does not seem to be a lot to do in the area though for golfers there is a course next door. Letchworth has a nice spacious centre but there does not seem to be a major store in the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food and service you received. Regarding activities, can I just mention that there are some lovely walks to be done nearby (the Letchworth Greenway passes near the hotel and goes all around town - 13+ miles - including the nearby Willian Arboretum and Wymondley Woods) and that part of the charm of Letchworth is that there are no large shops in the centre (Stevenage is not far and has all the shops... But far less charm, I think...).
I hope you will stay with us again - special occasion or just getting away from it all!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Bought through GroupOn like many other reviewers; £79 for 3 course meal for two, with a bottle of wine, a double room, and breakfast in the morning, with free use of health club. For that price you can't really go wrong, so any opinions here are really based on paying the full price which is according to the voucher circa £250.

When arriving, there were two couples before us at reception, which meant us standing around for 5 minutes before being able to check in; this happened the following morning for checking out too; perhaps an extra receptionist would help?

The room was very well equipped and clean. No complaints in this area other than the bed sheets being Noisy when you move; strange point to note but it led to a disturbed night for both of us. Too soft a mattress for my poor old back too but that's a subjective point. My biggest annoyance, compounded after a disturbed sleep, was that our room (43), was situated by a door that the staff used frequently in the early morning; and felt the need to let it slam behind them every few minutes. You expect some external room noise when staying away from home, but this I found to be excessive and left the both of us bleary eyed come 8am for breakfast.

Breakfast itself was fine, typical fry up fare, along with fruit and other continental selections and cereal on a buffet service. Both of us happy with this, although the bacon was cremated, I personally like it this way but not to everyone's tastes.

I've left dinner out, for good reason; it was by far the highlight for us both. It started for us with drinks at the bar; the bar manager was a little preoccupied and almost grumpy, which isn't the end of the world. The bar area was very quiet and lacked atmosphere, but as long as you're in good company that's fine.

We were left waiting at the entrance to the Lydells, when not very busy inside, but once seated the staff were very attentive. The initial waitress wasn't totally confident on the items on the menu, but the staff were all very friendly and were keeping a good eye on us without making us feel watched.

The food itself far exceeded my expectations, excellent quality, excellent portion size, excellent presentation, and tasted amazing.

Overall very happy with our stay; the only recommendation/feedback I can offer is to ask staff to be more careful when opening/closing doors which slam, and for the management to think about allocation of staff; there were plenty on, but seemed to be gathered in areas and neglecting others; front of house is just as important as table service.

But thank you to all who made out stay a nice break.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
I am happy to read your positive comments and I take on board your suggestions regarding external noise and allocation of staff.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we visited this fab hotel using a groupon voucher.the staff were very attentive and polite. the hotel was very clean and room was lovely but have to say a little chilly but they did leave us a mini heater which i did use. the three course dinner was excellent and very filling and the free bottle of wine was very nice too.we found the hotel really relaxing and cosy and loved the surroundings.we did use the free use of the leisure centre but was a bit dissapointed there was no jacuzzi. breakfast was a help yourself and there was so much choice. we had a lovely time there and would def go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, - I will definitely pass on your comments to the chef - and we hope to see again soon!
Kind comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Letchworth Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.