We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Fair rip-off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Court Castle and Gardens

Hampton Court Castle and Gardens
Hope under Dinmore, Leominster HR6 0PN, England
01568 797676
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hampton Court Castle and Gardens like an insider
Skip the Line
$25*
and up
Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Leominster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Hereford
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Xmas Fair rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Called in at the Xmas Fair to buy Xmas decorations and get ideas for pressies.
We were charged £3.50 entrance fee, which I thought was O.K. as I hoped we'd see lots of ideas for decorations that were unusual. How wrong I was!
The whole experience consisted of the usual gift stalls that had nothing whatsoever to do with Christmas! Only about 25% of the stalls were selling Christmas items. There was one stall with a selection of 6 different wrapping papers. One on sale anywhere else! I looked for Xmas tree decorations but saw very little. We left after 20 minutes with purchasing anything.
It's not the first time I've felt ripped off by this company.
We ended up driving to Hereford and calling in at Wyevale to buy Xmas decorations.
All in all a waste of £3.50 and more importantly a waste of time!
A

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    78
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Black Tie Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The annual Herefordshire Society annual dinner was held at Hampton Court Castle in November this year and was a great success with 70 guests enjoying a sparkiling wine reception in the Library and then a beautiful 3 course Dinner in the Ballroom. The food was excellent and service was very good with coffee and petit foux enjoyed during the speeches. The setiing could not be bettered. We will certainly be returning next year and would strongly recommend this setting for a formal Dinner.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hampton Court Travel Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited Hampton Court with two adults and two children. By travelling on British Rail we were given a two for one deal so the children had free entry into Hampton Court, the maze and the gardens.

We used the family tour on the free audio guides but it did not have a lot of information. Perhaps better for younger children? I would recommend one of the other guided tours.

A note of warning - it all closes at 4.30 pm in winter.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit Abroad
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good for an outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There were lots of different areas to stroll around in the gardens, which was very enjoyable. The castle setting is very grand too. The cafe was impressive although the service was a little slow. Overall a nice place for an afternoon outing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Castle and gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have visited this several times. Twice, I have had a guided tour of the Castle. Guides very knowledgeable, and it was interesting, but agree that the interiors are quite bare, and a lot of the furnishings look as though they have come from a film set, rather than be handed down through generations. Having said that, the tour is worth doing, especially if this is your first visit. I love the gardens, and of course children love the maze and going up into the building in the middle. A visit under the tunnel is a must, and the waterfall is really lovely. Some of the garden structures quite amazing, best to visit from Spring to Autumn. Look out for special events, there may be something of interest to you, that would make the visit even more enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Court Castle and Gardens also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to Hampton Court Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Court Castle and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.