We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Court Castle and Gardens

Hampton Court Castle and Gardens
Hope under Dinmore, Leominster HR6 0PN, England
01568 797676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$26*
and up
Skip the Line: Hampton Court Palace Tickets
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Leominster
Type: Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wonderful gardens and maze. My husband is in a wheelchair and access is very good. I was able to push him around the maze easily. Ofcourse he couldn't go into the tower but enjoyed taking photos of us in there. The sunken garden was beautiful but again my husband couldn't access this. The grounds are excellent and the little stalls selling goods are very reasonably priced. We ate in the cafe which was lovely with great views. Access to the castle is limited but still worth a look. The majority of the gardens were easily accessed with a wheelchair. We had a super day out and look forward to a return visit when we would probably just pay for the gardens entrance. Looks fine for children with a nice play area and plenty of space to run around. Many interesting statues and trees and plants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    73
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing gardens and stately home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Firstly, it's not a castle. Don't expect a drawbridge with knights jousting about. If you want a castle with a portcullis go to Warwick castle instead. What you will find is an amazing selection of gardens, a maze, waterfall, sunken garden and lots of places to explore.

The 'castle' itself is a stately home filled with imported artefacts. It's nice if you like stately homes but it's not the most impressive one i've seen (Berrington Hall nearby is probably better). You also can't see much of the house itself unless you're booking it for a function so you really won't be missing much by not seeing the house (think suits of armour and random tapestries).

The gardens alone are worth the entrance fee and if you're pushed for time just get the garden only ticket. I'd go back but next time i'd only bother with the gardens.

They do have a cafe but we packed our own food so didn't eat there but it all looked clean and nice enough. If you want a good pub nearby try the Englands Gate Inn down the road.

All in all a good family day out, check the timetable before visiting as they have special dates throughout the year with different activities on.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely garden and grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We paid to enter the garden but didn't bother with the house as we were suffering from heritage fatigue (when you've seen one stately home you've pretty much seen them all!)
The gardens were superb, both formal garden and kitchen garden plus the excellent maze and hidden sunken garden.
Very interesting sculptures in the garden.
The riverside walk was lovely and we even caught site of an otter!
Took a picnic but the cafe looked nice and cakes were good.
Ice creams were very expensive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful day in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You just cant spend enough time at this castle! We spent almost 5 hours and barely got to see any of the insides. The grounds are beautiful and the entertainment provided is excellent for all ages! I would definately reccommend buying the ticket that gets you into all the different areas it was well worth the money. The inside exhibits were interesting and well laid out. I only wish we had spent more time there and seen more! Definately a day trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited with a friend and her young children. The gardens are lovely with a good number of things for the children to play with. They loved the maze, tunnel and waterfall and the riverside walk. The castle itself was fun - mainly because of a great guide - however, a lot of the artefacts are not original or relevant to the castle (added late 1900's by American owner), and apart from the architecture this probably doesn't compare well as a major historic location for an educational visit. Food in the tea shop is ok - not too pricey, however if visiting again in fine weather a picnic would be a great option. Hampton the resident cat was a bonus! Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Court Castle and Gardens also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Hampton Court Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Court Castle and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.