We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average prices for fairly average food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Merchant's House

The Merchant's House
10 Corn Square | Leominster, Leominster HR6 8LR, England
01568 616141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Leominster
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above average prices for fairly average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited here at 1pm on Bank Holiday Monday, the waitress managed to fit us in after initial doubt as it seems hardly anything else is open in Leominster on Bank Holidays. After being seated, approximately 10 minutes passed before we were asked for our order. This in hindsight should of told us the time it would take to get our lunch, - a full 50 minutes at the least. Which could of been tolerated had it appeared that the staff had been in any urgency to bring out the 2 baguettes and toasted sandwich on order. The food, when it did arrive, was well presented, although my sons toastie was on the hard side and to be honest overdone. He did not finish it. We had the chicken brie and bacon, plus the steak and onion baguettes. They were indeed tasty, although for 5p short of £8 about £2 over priced. Do not think you are getting a full size baguette, - I'd estimate it was 4/5 inches long. Again, not reflected in the price. The total for our lunch with drinks was £26, a bit pricey for what were essentially sandwiches. I realise small establishments as these rely on passing trade, but also word of mouth is equally important and I do not think I will be spreading the love on this occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere and some nice food BUT....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

nice atmosphere and some nice food, the smoked mackerel and warm salad was so nice I went out of my way to go again for the steak and ale pie. It looked lovely with big chunks of steak but the pastry and gravy were so salty the other flavours were lost. Also when i pointed out that the steamed sponge was burnt in the middle (I think it had be warmed in the microwave) it was ignored.
Choose your dish carefully!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A good light lunch in Leominster, in agreeable surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Set in a corner of Corn Square, this is a welcoming cafe with superior lunch-time food, and good service. Between the four of us, we sampled a smoked haddock salad, chicken pate, a BLT sandwich, three bean chilli and a surprisingly good bottle of Rioja. All very palatable, at fair prices. If you're so inclined, the Antiques Centre offers an interesting and relaxed follow-up to your meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Eating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not overly impressed with food, atmosphere quite impersonal. Impressive building however and staff friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I took my elderly Mother for a treat, and found the food and service to be just as good as other reviewers had suggested. We felt very comfortable, and were well looked-after.

We both ordered the Gammon with Bubble & Squeak and Creamed Green Beans. The B&S was rather salty, but otherwise the meal was delicious. We also had desserts: Sticky Toffee pudding, and Hot Cherries & Ice-cream - both excellent. Cost, including a drink: around £15 each.

I've rated 4 stars only because they mixed up the booking - had us down for the following day. That, in my opinion, was rather poor, but luckily they had tables spare, so no drama.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merchant's House also viewed

Kingsland, Leominster
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Merchant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merchant's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.