We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open fire and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merchant's House

The Merchant's House
10 Corn Square | Leominster, Leominster HR6 8LR, England
01568 616141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Leominster
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Open fire and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A charming old merchants house serving good value tasty food. Choose a table by the open fire and you will be toasty warm.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good home-made food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Popped in for lunch on a wet miserable day and found a welcoming fire, comprehensive menu and sensible prices. My home-made leek and potato soup was deee-licious and so was the cheese scone that came with it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A welcome awaited us on such a cold day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We visited Leominster on a really icy, freezing cold day, and decided to have a coffee and bite to eat, so called into the Merchants House. What a treat, a lovely log fire, and we ordered the soup with cheese scone. Delicious! we must return for more!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited the Merchant's House for lunch and really enjoyed it. The service was excellent and the food lovely. Our only disappointment was that we could not book for an evening meal as they are no longer open in the evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Really Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visit Leominster about once a year and, since the closure of the Talbot Arms some time ago, have found it difficult to find a good place to eat in that town. Previous experience of The Merchant House had proved to be OKay-ish - nothing very special at all - and indeed this year's lunch when it was served to me looked as though it could well be more of the same.

I had ordered the Pork and Mushroom Stroganoff from the Specials Board - I just love Stroganoffs and have collected and cooked very many variants of these sour-cream dishes.However, I was appalled to find that the plate was adorned by five or six strips of cold tomato. Why? Why? Why? This added nothing to the dish and, indeed, was in conflict with it.

I did what I was taught to do as a boy: first eat up the veg that you don't like and then tackle the rest of the plate. What followed was more than worth it. The meat element was provided by slices of pork tenderloin, full of flavour and as yielding as the name suggests. The mushrooms looked to be fairly ordinary - the kind that you'd find on the shelves of any supermarket - but this chef had managed to coax from them a flavour that was ravishing. And all of this was served on a bed of wild rice with an overall effect that was stunning. A fellow-diner - himself a chef - told me that my meal had been prepared by a former pupil of the Roux brothers. I can well believe it - this was seriously good. I tried to find the chef to congratulate him (and get the recipe) but was unable to do so. Perhaps next year?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merchant's House also viewed

Kingsland, Leominster
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Merchant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merchant's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.