We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgate House
Save
You added Highgate House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Can you stay at a nicer B&B? Run by a great couple who really welcome you into their fantastic home. We stayed in room 1 which is a large triple. great breakfast and you are only a 15 minute walk into the centre. Very good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
It's so kind of you to take the time to do us such a wonderful review.We think Highgate House is a wonderful characterful house and we like our guests to feel at home with us. We would be very glad to welcome you again, should you need to be in Leominster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Highgate Hse for only 1 night but the owners Cyril & Margaret where excellent. The triple room with en-suite we had was first class, spotlessly clean with tea making and even cake in our room, The breakfast was really good to. would highly reccomend this B&B

Room Tip: A little more expensive but ask for the the tripple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us,even though it was only for one night. It's always good for us to know what guests thought of our B and B. Perhaps you'll stop with us again if you need to be in this area.Many thanks for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairndow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having researched this B and B via Tripadvisor I can only say believe what you read! This is a wonderful place to stay made even better by the owners, Margaret and Cyril, who are delightful people and genuinely want their guests to enjoy the ambiance of their wonderful Victorian home. The rooms were lovely and well thought out, beautifully presented and decorated. Margaret even had cake ready for us to have in our room when we arrived, a nice touch.
It was also good value for money, proving that great quality doesn't have to cost the earth.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of it and a wide choice including fresh fruit salad each morning.
If we're in Leominster again we will look no further than Highgate House, a prefect place to stay which deserves the accolades credited to it.
Thank you Margaret and Cyril, we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back/side of the house may be quieter as quite it's on quite a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Wow, how lovely to find such a terrific review for doing something we really enjoy ie) having guests in our home. As you know,we only started our B and B after getting bored with retirement and now it's something we wish we had done sooner. Our aim is to give guests what we would like ourselves and a bit more if possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay and when you move to Leominster at least you will know two people!! Thanks so much for taking the time to do such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was the verdict of our 11 year old daughter after our recent overnight stay. We met up with friends and Margaret and Cyril kindly rearranged the breakfast room so we could all eat together. This was just one example of the relaxed, attentive and cheerful attitude we found there. Our daughter was also greatly impressed with the cake. Breakfast for all of us was varied and delicious, with veggie bacon and sausages on offer for two of us. We had the triple room at the back and this was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
What a pleasure it was for us to go into Trip Advisor and find this wonderful review. What a pleasure it was also to meet you all and to have you stay with us.We do hope you'll stay again if you need to be in this area. Very many thanks for taking the time to do such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed early September for a local wedding and Highgate House provided everything you need from a B&B with clean rooms and nicely cooked breakfast. It was also convenient for Hampton court castle.

However what made me write this review is that yesterday I received a nice surprise! I had left my pyjamas there and thought that was the end of that. Yet yesterday I received a parcel and they had posted them to me unprompted! This was very kind and beyond the call of duty. So thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Nadia, so glad you received your pyjamas. Did you notice they had been washed and ironed as well?.You didn't put a full post code on your registration card but a very kind lady at Leominster post office found it for me so glad they turned up safely.
Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having looked online at Highgate House, and been impressed, we booked a 3 night stay and were not disappointed. We opted for Room 2, which as the photos had suggested, was spacious, well decorated and even contained a couple of 'easy' chairs, perfect for reading the paper, while scoffing a slice of Margaret's lovely cake! Margaret and Cyril are excellent b&b hosts and full of useful advise. We had been a little disappointed in the restaurants/pubs in Leominster at first glance, but were persuaded to try the Italian restaurant, Milano, which we liked so much we spent 2 evening there. We could walk into the town from Highgate House, which was a lovely bonus and allowed us to share a bottle of wine. Well done Margaret and Cyril, you certainly went a long way towards making our trip to the area such a success. Highly recommended for comfort and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Very many thanks for your great review and for choosing to stay with us. We're so glad we helped to make your visit to the Leominster area enjoyable. The praise is even more important to us as you are ex B and B owners. We try very hard to suggest the most suitable places for our guests to eat,even having to try out everywhere ourselves ( what a chore ) Anyhow it would be lovely to have you both stay with us and perhaps we'll see you again some time in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the minute I arrived I felt very welcomed into their home. On going to my room (which was spacious, tastefully decorated and very clean) I was welcomed with a piece of cake - a lovely touch! Everything that you could possibly need was provided. The breakfasts were lovely - especially the local bacon and eggs. Both Margaret and Cyril were great hosts - very helpful and easy to talk to - very friendly people. Overall, I would recommend Highgate House to all that like "a home away from home".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
So glad you felt " at home " with us because that,s how we hope guests will feel. We really enjoy all our different guests and try to help them find suitable places to eat and to visit. Hope the rest of your trip is going well that we might see you again in this area.Many thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highgate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.