We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind & helpful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgate House
Save
You added Highgate House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kind & helpful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed early September for a local wedding and Highgate House provided everything you need from a B&B with clean rooms and nicely cooked breakfast. It was also convenient for Hampton court castle.

However what made me write this review is that yesterday I received a nice surprise! I had left my pyjamas there and thought that was the end of that. Yet yesterday I received a parcel and they had posted them to me unprompted! This was very kind and beyond the call of duty. So thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Nadia, so glad you received your pyjamas. Did you notice they had been washed and ironed as well?.You didn't put a full post code on your registration card but a very kind lady at Leominster post office found it for me so glad they turned up safely.
Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having looked online at Highgate House, and been impressed, we booked a 3 night stay and were not disappointed. We opted for Room 2, which as the photos had suggested, was spacious, well decorated and even contained a couple of 'easy' chairs, perfect for reading the paper, while scoffing a slice of Margaret's lovely cake! Margaret and Cyril are excellent b&b hosts and full of useful advise. We had been a little disappointed in the restaurants/pubs in Leominster at first glance, but were persuaded to try the Italian restaurant, Milano, which we liked so much we spent 2 evening there. We could walk into the town from Highgate House, which was a lovely bonus and allowed us to share a bottle of wine. Well done Margaret and Cyril, you certainly went a long way towards making our trip to the area such a success. Highly recommended for comfort and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Very many thanks for your great review and for choosing to stay with us. We're so glad we helped to make your visit to the Leominster area enjoyable. The praise is even more important to us as you are ex B and B owners. We try very hard to suggest the most suitable places for our guests to eat,even having to try out everywhere ourselves ( what a chore ) Anyhow it would be lovely to have you both stay with us and perhaps we'll see you again some time in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

From the minute I arrived I felt very welcomed into their home. On going to my room (which was spacious, tastefully decorated and very clean) I was welcomed with a piece of cake - a lovely touch! Everything that you could possibly need was provided. The breakfasts were lovely - especially the local bacon and eggs. Both Margaret and Cyril were great hosts - very helpful and easy to talk to - very friendly people. Overall, I would recommend Highgate House to all that like "a home away from home".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
So glad you felt " at home " with us because that,s how we hope guests will feel. We really enjoy all our different guests and try to help them find suitable places to eat and to visit. Hope the rest of your trip is going well that we might see you again in this area.Many thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a delightful B&B, very homely and comfortable, its a beautiful house and the room we were in was very spacious and welcoming after our journey.
We stayed here en route to Wales and ate out at an Indian restauraunt in the Town on Margaret's reccomendation, it was really nice.
Margaret and Cyril are great hosts, and provided a tasty breakfast. I couldn't fault it.
If I was in the area again, i would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and it's good to know you'd stay again if you had to be in the area. Leominster is well situated for an over night stop if you're travelling north/south or going into Wales. We are very grateful for your lovely review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I’ve been lucky enough to stay at the Highgate House on many occasions, each time has been very pleasurable.

I’m well-travelled and have stayed in many hotels and guest houses throughout Europe. But never found one to match the quality and friendliness that Cyril and Margaret offer to their customers.
The reason is they take pride in their business and home, and you do really feel at home when staying.

I’ve stayed in all 4 rooms over the years, and each one has its own character and are all are wonderfully decorated.
The en-suite facilities are well presented, with plenty of space and the shower is very good. Margaret even bakes her own cakes and put them in your room to enjoy.

Breakfast is also great, Margaret makes a wonderful dry-up or you can choose from a good selection of fruits and cereals, tea and coffee.

Parking is covered and very secure, never had any problems with finding a space. Private parking is available at the rear.

My girlfriend has stayed with me on several occasions, she is Vegan and both Cyril and Margaret have gone out of their way to cater for her extra needs and make her feel just as welcome.
Nothing is ever to much trouble for them and we have had many laughs and interesting conversation during my stays.

If you are looking for a place to stay, don’t look anywhere else. They are number 1 on Trip advisor for a reason and it’s plain to see why by all.

Looking forward to many more stays.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
You have just put into words, the sort of atmosphere we want to convey so we must be doing it right. Highgate House is a big old Victorian house that needs to be full of people. It is also our home and we want our very welcome guests to feel " at home " here. It is not a job for us (well maybe most of the time )and we really enjoy meeting all our very different guests.So very many thanks for your great review and for staying with us again. Perhaps you'll get a game of tennis with Cyril !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister ond I stayed for three nights this weekend. We chose the Highgate House after looking in the internet for Places to stay in Leominster. The trip advisor reviews were very good. And boy did they live up to their reviews. It was the most friendly, clean ,homely,and welcoming place that I have ever been to. The previous comments are all true. Lovely cake, hearty breakfast,and because this weekend was very hot and we were walking a lot Margaret gave us extra water. And when it was tipping down with rain on Sun.am ,Cyril kindly carried our bags to his car and took us to the Rail station. many thanks.It is just a short walk into town and there are a lot of good things to see in the town.We also took a trainride of only 10 mins to Ludlow. Margaret kindly let us show my two other sisters around the B&B with I hope another sisterly get together in the future when more of the family can stay.Thank you again for a Fab stay in your home..xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're so glad you four sisters enjoyed your " get together " in Leominster and that we were part of it. Perhaps next time you'll hire a car here because there are lots of interesting places to visit. We hope the long journey home wasn't too bad especially with the very heavy rain.but you were lucky with the weather for your 3 day stay.Very many thanks to you both for the super review and look forward to next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I arrived to a warm welcome after a long days cycle (part of a Land's End to John o'Groats trip). In my spacious room was a piece of homemade coffee and walnut cake which went down a treat. The room and en-suite bathroom were very clean and in excellent order. The breakfast was very good. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Firstly, very well done on completing the Land's End to John 'O Groats charity cycle ride. Must say we love the photos you've put on Trip Advisor along with your super review. We've got an ipad now and been busy taking photos of our B and B to put on trip advisorr ( miracle for someone who is not technical !) Best of luck and perhaps we'll see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highgate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.