We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgate House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Leominster B&B and Inns
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault it. The room was large and airy and very well decorated with an ensuite with large shower cubicle. The breakfast was really good with cereals, yogurt, toast and cooked breakfast and the customer service was fabulous with great recommendations on where to eat out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We really appreciate your lovey review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently stayed at Highgate House and found everything to be first class.
The hosts were very welcoming and the room was a good size and very clean. The homemade cake on the hospitality tray was a lovely touch!
We received good advice on where to eat and were easily able to walk to town.
Breakfast was very good and the dining room was a pleasant place to enjoy it.
Will definately return and highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Very many thanks for your kind review. We will be pleased to see you again next time you have to be in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night, whilst visiting an Aunt in the area. The room was lovely, with a very comfortable bed and lovely, quality, linen. We slept very well.

The breakfast was delicious and hosts were wonderful.
We would stay again and strongly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was only one night. Perhaps we will see you again when you come to see Auntie. I wonder if you really took her to Snowdonia for the day ? A really long way from Leominster !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just got back from a short trip to Herefordshire. Margaret and Cyril Merriman welcome you warmly to this smart, tastefully decorated B&B just a short 15 minute walk from Leominster town centre. The premises have been beautifully refurbished; the Victorian house is spacious, clean and welcoming. From our Room 1, we had lovely views of the green hills beyond. We found the Hereford Road by going straight across the roundabout where the A44 meets the A49, through the industrial estate thus avoiding the one way system through and around Leominster. There was tea and coffee in our room, home made cake, biscuits, all the usual helpful toiletries plus a TV. The room was clean, smart, spacious and comfortable. Parking in the road was not a problem, although there are a couple of off road spaces at the back of the house. Breakfast was great and we are especially grateful to Margaret and Cyril for welcoming an unexpected guest in the form of my husband who was on a cycling trip in the area and turned up for breakfast one morning. Nothing is too much trouble and we highly recommend the house, and the hospitality to anyone needing to stay in the area. It was a 15 minute flat walk to the local train station with connections to Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Newport and Manchester Piccadilly. Fully endorse all the positive recommendations made about this great B&B - oh, and good value for money, too!

Room Tip: Although the house is on a "B" road, there was no problem with passing traffic whilst we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Very many thanks for your lovely review. I'm glad we lived up to your expectations as I expect you had high hopes after reading our reviews. We enjoyed our chats on mutual subjects and it was a pleasure to meet your delightful son and your husband ( for breakfast ) Hope all goes well for you all and perhaps see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My cycling buddy and I spent 1 night at Highgate and wish we were able to stay longer. Margret and all at Highgate made us very welcome in their home. The property is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated inside and out. Bikes were stored securely. Facilities were modern and comfortable. Home-made cake was delicious! Breakfast was tasty. Everything first rate! We look forward to our next visit to Highgate.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Very many thanks for all your lovely comments about our B and B. I know the price for our superior room was more than you had paid previously in the town but I do hope you thought it was worth it. Look forward to meeting you both again next time you're in Leominster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My son and I can thoroughly recommend this guesthouse run by Margaret and Cyril Merriman. We found it through the internet while planning our Land's End to John O'Groats charity cycle ride, and can say that it was the nicest B & B we stayed in on the whole trip. It's a handsome C19th house, easy to find, nice big airy rooms which are tastefully but not fussily decorated. Two large slices of homemade carrot cakes awaited us in some tupperware! Beats a bit of shortbread in a packet anyday. Our bikes were locked away and even our cycling kit was removed, washed and dried for the next morning. But despite all these lovely surprises the best bit was the next day - a superb breakfast, bacon trimmed of fat, different types of bread toasted, such attention to detail, all of it gracefully and thoughtfully done. If you are going to Leominster, I honestly doubt you'll find another overnight stay as good as this one.

Room Tip: Ask about Mrs Wilkinson - you'll be in for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Firstly, well done on completing the Land's End to John O'Groats charity cycle ride. We hope you made lots of money for your charity. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for the lovely review. Perhaps you'll come and stay with us again, if only to see Mrs Wilkinson, our cat with attitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for a night in June and received a very warm welcome from the hosts. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee were provided, as was some delicious home made cake. Breakfast was lovely, and they even managed to cater for me, a fussy vegetarian! I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Glad you felt welcome at Highgate House. It's the sort of house that needs people in it. Cyril and I enjoy all our different guests and we hope that shows through in the way we welcome them. Many thanks for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highgate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Highgate House to your Saves list