We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stagg Inn & Restaurant

Stagg Inn & Restaurant
Titley, Kington HR5 3RL, England
+44 (0)1544 230221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Kington
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wales
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Never had a poor course here let alone a poor meal. Good choice of first class quality ingredients cooked and presented perfectly together with reasonably priced quality wines. Always a lovely atmosphere and excellent front of house

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    1
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I took my partner for a belated birthday meal on a Friday lunchtime. The whole experience was outstanding, from our late telephone booking, to our greeting when we arrived, to the food and drink. The ambience is lovely, and really sets the scene for a wonderful meal. All our food was well cooked, well presented, and great value for money. Two of us had 3 courses, a couple of drinks each, and coffee afterwards, for less than £85. For a Michelin Star'd restaurant I think this is outstanding. I will certainly be going back, and I will tell everyone who cares to listen about how good this place is.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We tried to book for Sunday lunch and they were originally full, but took our number and called us back when they had a free table, so a great start! The food was awesome, my husband had lovely juicy pink roast beef with a fluffy yorkshire pud and all the trimmings and I had a gorgeous roast duck. We're both still dreaming about our the creme brulles we had for pudding... One of the best Sunday lunches I've had in a long time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic!!!- Well worth a long drive through beautiful countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had long wanted to visit the Stagg and weren't disapointed. A short menu, approx 6 mains, but it was still difficult to choose. The food was perfect and beautifully presented. The cheeseboard was exceptional with a huge range of local (ish) cheeses and knowledgeable staff. the atmosphere was lovely and, although we arrived early, and our table wasn't ready, this wasn't mentioned. We were made very welcome, seated in the bar and our drinks orders taken promptly and menus given to us. It's a long drive - 1 hour from the nearest motorway but the views and coutryside are beautiful - well worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Deserve more than one Michelin star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have been going to this restaurant for many years and it is consistently excellent. The quality is unquestionable, the place decidedly quirky and it is always fun to visit. Excellent seafood choices although meat eaters are catered for and amply. Make sure you make a reservation as it is always busy. Plenty of parking. Wine list extensive and reasonable. Can't fault the place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stagg Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Kington, Herefordshire
Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
Kington, Herefordshire
 

Been to Stagg Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stagg Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.