We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend in an authentic shepherds hut” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bredward Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bredward Farm
Save
You added Bredward Farm to your Saves list
Bredward Farm, Kington HR5 3HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend in an authentic shepherds hut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 nights at the May bank holiday weekend in the shepherds hut and it lived up to all of our expectations. What a great way to camp - normally when we go camping we haul a car full of tent and all its accompaniments with us but this was so light touch, all we had to do was take ourselves, as everything we needed, and more, was thoughtfully provided in the hut. We felt a bit guilty on the cold nights with the smoke bellowing out of our little chimney as we kept warm and cosy by the wood burning stove, while the other campers tried to keep from freezing in their tents.... Lorraine delivered her full English breakfast to us in the morning, another highlight, which kept us going through a good part of the day. The countryside here is beautiful and this is the perfect base to explore it. Also some great local friendly pubs with good food just a short drive away. We'll definitely be going back for some more.... Emma & David.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
37
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

No complaints. Met at the door with a smile which continued through my stay. Very flexible hours and a real farnhouse breakfast in the morning with lots of toast. The camping field boasts a couple of 'shepherds huts' available to rent and a large pond with wild fowl with their young to entertain you. As a working farm there's lots going on to interest the kids.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms overlooking the beautifully kept garden full of birds entertaining from the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 7nights caravaning at Bredward Had a great time in a wonderful location,Ian & Lorriane our hosts made us feel special,as I'm sure they do to everyone. Ideal spot to use as a base to explore the local area.be sure to sample the Hereford Cider.
SaintRay1950

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights B&B during an annual Ballooning event taking place in the field next to the Camp Site. My single room was comfortable with more towels and toiletries than one would find in a 5 star City Hotel. Must recommend Lorraine's breakfasts - no need for lunch after an 'English' with all the additions. For anyone camping this must rate as one of the best kept sites ever. Hook-ups are available and there's a new well appointed toilet block. Ian cuts the grass frequently and for the romantic there's even an authentic Shepherd's hut on wheels complete with pot bellied stove. Cooked breakfasts can be delivered from the house for those having the need. There's also a large pond on the site complete with kayak for guests to use.
Centrally located for the wonderful Hereford countryside I will definately be returning with balloon next year!

Room Tip: For 4 people there's an excellent self catering apartment in the main house. For B&B there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just had our third stay at Cider Press Cottage. Lorraine and Ian were as welcoming as ever and we enjoyed a very restful time in this lovely spot. We have booked to come again next year and there is no better recommendation than that!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a lovely location.Our stay here was just idyllic.It was peaceful and quiet.Lorraine and
Ian were a lovely couple who were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We particulary liked the surrounding countryside,with the sheep in the fields and especially
'Wobbley' the donkey.The 'Cider Press Cottage' was nice and very 'Oldey Worldy',it had
everything in it that you could possibley want for a stay.We liked the welcome pack that was
provided by Lorraine,a nice touch.We will definitly be coming back.
Many thanks Lorraine and Ian,from Mike and Geraldine Brunton,Cambs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a truly magnificent cottage, set in some of the finest countryside. We have just returned from a weeks holiday there and the standard and condition of the cottage is second to none. I would not hesitate to go there again and would whole heartedly recommend it to anyone.
The Hosts, Lorraine and Ian, make you feel right at home and as I said before the cottage itself has to be seen to be believed.
A wonderful Holiday. Many Thanks
Keith & Julie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bredward Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bredward Farm

Address: Bredward Farm, Kington HR5 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bredward Farm Hotel Kington
Bredward Farm Kington, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bredward Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.