We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Bache House

Lower Bache House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lower Bache House to your Saves list
Lower Bache House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   nr Leominster, Kimbolton, Leominster HR6 0ER , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kimbolton B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not nice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

All nice on the phone, replaced with rude and bad attitude when we arrived. No hot water in room until we asked for it in the morning, and then only a dribble and tepid. No mention of price increase when informed owner on the phone that we were two people not one. No heating when we had breakfast in the main room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
When the gentleman rang two days before Christmas requiring a single room for Boxing night, recognising that it was near impossible for him to find somewhere else, we happily agreed to accommodate him, although it had not been our intention to take such a booking. He subsequently rang to tell us that it would be two people and they would be arriving at 7pm. which was fine.
Just before arrival time he rang and said it would now be 10pm. no explanation or apology.
they arrived rather inconveniently at 10.30, again no apology, and it was agreed at their request that breakfast would be at 9am. At 8am., as we were in the process of preparing the dining room they appeared and demanded breakfast immediately. Again, no explanation or apology. The gentleman then affected to believe that a double room was the same rate as a single, despite the tariff [and normal practice] being quite clearly described on the website.
I gave exact details of how to operate the power shower. When they had departed we found he had managed to switch the power off.
Throughout, we encountered nothing but arrogance, lack of consideration and rudeness. Our disappointment at this experience may well have been reflected in our faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

we recently stayed here again after visiting a few years ago. so relaxing, a great get away from it all location and what I love about it is it is unique. The building is stunning and the room is unique, not like every other hotel or B&B where you can forget what country\area you are in because they all look the same.
food was as wonderful as I remember and what I really love is that all the meat is free range which is important to me. The sausages are the best I have ever had.
great location near to lots of black and white building villages and an easy drive to Ludlow which is the foody capital of the country except for perhaps London

Room Tip: steps to some of the rooms so if mobility is a problem mention this when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this just three days before visiting and was pleased to receive a phone call to confirm our requirements, and some information in the post. Lower Bache House is down a narrow lane with few passing places, but is only about three miles from Leominster. There are a few other buildings nearby on either side. It overlooks a small valley, and the dining area catches the early morning sun. Our bedroom, accessed via an external stone staircase, was very rustic with exposed beams and low ceiling in parts. As well as an en-suite shower room it had a sitting area next to the main part of the bedroom, but overall was no more than average size. A few of the fittings were not quite right, such as the window stays on which the holes were not aligned with the knobs, and sink taps that were hard to turn off completely. Personally I found the number of ornaments, pictures and potted plants to be excessive.
Breakfast was quite good. They also provide an evening meal on request, which we chose to have on two of the three nights we stayed. You state your dietary preferences and are served a two or three course set meal in line with this. Both times we had it this was excellent - highly recommended if you are happy to eat whatever you are served, rather than choosing from a menu.

Room Tip: Some rooms are accessed via an external entrance up a flight of rough stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not the 'nestled in a tranquil valley' retreat I had hoped for. The property is actually nestled amidst several other busy residential properties within very close proximity.
It is a beautiful building, but in much need of a deep clean and more than a little maintenance.
Following on from other comments, the area can easily be found with the use of a Sat Nav. However, it's not clearly signposted as B&B/where to check in, or indeed signposted off the main road as other accommodation in the area is. Upon arrival we eliminated the building site immediately next-door and row and cottages beyond ! and found the way in.
Leominster is indeed a beautiful town. I would stay at Leominster but perhaps not here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We do not recognise Lower Bache House from these comments.
We are signposted from the main road.
We pride ourselves on our exacting standards of cleanliness and décor.
There are just three gates in the lane and Lower Bache is indicated by a prominent house sign.
Beyond our range of outbuildings is a small walled courtyard of six cottages, all occupied by single retired people, four of whom are ladies. Not exactly the most raucous of communities.
My neighbour is retiling a nearby barn. A very temporary minor visual inconvenience that doesn't impinge at all on what is a most peaceful and beautiful tranquil valley with outstanding views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The age of the buildings at Lower Bache gives you low, exposed beams coupled with internal and external steps (to two suites) resulting in a certain quirkiness. For some the quirkiness may be irksome for others interesting. Our suite had a large double bed, small en suite, with masses of constantly hot water, and small sitting area. There were extensive views all around the property.
Yes, a sat nav would be helpful in finding the house which is situated down very narrow lanes.
We found breakfast to be more than adequate and the evening suppers were very enjoyable.
We can also understand some of the earlier comments but enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

There are concerns about this property, first there is no warning in literature that you have very little chance of finding it unless you use a sat nav or similar.secondly, the place is a positive danger with quaint but very low unprotected beams , the owner seemingly having the attitude of it being quite normal to badly injure ones head, quoting he has the scars to prove it

Room Tip: The rooms located on first floor are dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are sorry that the gentleman bumped his head on a low doorway, but we did point it out to him on arrival. In 17th. century timber framed farmhouses they are common.
We make a virtue of the fact that we are deep in the peace and quiet of the countryside, and the map I sent him is easy to follow if you need support for satnav.
However, the extremely jolly ladies that he brought with him thoroughly enjoyed themselves and were most fulsome in their praise when they left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A lovely location set way off the beaten track in the rolling Herefordshire countryside. We had pre-booked this B&B for a one-night stay whilst touring the area, from their website. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Les (mine Host) who showed us to our room in the courtyard annex.
The accommodation was quite spacious with a large bedroom & en-suite, and small sitting room with sofa, tea/coffee making facilities and small TV. All quite nice, but rather tired and in need of a fresh lick of paint and some new curtains. But a comfortable night was had.
Breakfast the following morning was taken in the main building, which was a wonderful old farm-building conversion which was really characterful with oak beams, bare stone walls & flagged floors....with numerous antiques scattered around for effect. The English breakfast was delicious with fresh local produce, but was quite small and rather mean....only one small rasher of bacon and one small sausage, one egg and a small spoon of baked beans accompanied by the ubiquitous grilled half tomato.....very nice and very tasty but not enough to satisfy a man with an appetite.
The general impression of this accommodation was good, but slightly disappointing, and did not match up to expectations of "something special" as was portrayed in the website. In general, the property was quaint and quirky but tired and in need of some maintenance and decorating to freshen things up. The garden too had potential, but was very overgrown and obviously in need of some serious maintenance.
Would we stay again.....probably not, there are better places around.

Room Tip: The courtyard annexe does offer quiet, groundfloor separation from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are pleased that much of what we offer met with a positive response from this guest, but just maybe our 'quirkiness' is at variance with his taste.
All our suites were redecorated in the spring.
We believe that the quality of the food we offer is more important that its volume, and seven separate items for a full breakfast is reasonable, not withstanding that cereals and toast are there for guests to help themselves to.
We always make a point of asking if everyone is satisfied and we received an affirmative on this occasion.
We manage our gardens for wildlife.Wild flowers grow with the cultivars and are left when seeded to feed the birds in winter. We recognise that we are not as smart as Hampton Court, but they don't have the wealth of butterflies, bees, birds and other animals, some quite rare, that we have.
We do hope that he comes again, a fresh look may make him more appreciative of our aims and efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Bache House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Bache House

Address: nr Leominster, Kimbolton, Leominster HR6 0ER , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster > Kimbolton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kimbolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Bache House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lower Bache House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Bache House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.