We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special weekend with special friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shendish Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shendish Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Shendish Manor Hotel
London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Letchworth Garden City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Special weekend with special friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a lovely time at Shendish Manor last weekend 16th March 2013, the rececption was excellent very friendly and efficient. The room was roomy spotless and very comfortable. the restaurant was very nice (looks better inn the evening with the candles on the tables it made it very cosy, the food was excellent and the staff were one again friendly and efficient. The men would have preferred a better selection of beers. overall we were very impressed and will certainly recommend Shendish Manor to friends. Looking forward to going there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    123
    55
    20
    17
See reviews for
61
126
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here in February 2013 for business. The hotel was very difficult to find and I initially missed the signpost. Once found it was in a nice location in quiet grounds, despite being in the middle of Hemel.

Public areas were very nice and the room was very comfortabl and well equipped.

Breakfast however was a disappointment with poor food choice / availabilit and non-existent service.

This place could be significantly improved f they addressed their service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I should say this is a nice hotel. Nice building and grounds which make for a nice location to stay.
I have stopped here on many occasions over the past year and whilst I do like the hotel if never quite hits the spot and frequently has niggling issues.
Check in is always good with friendly well trained staff.
There are two styles of room, those in the old part of the hotel which have a little more old world character and this in the new part of the hotel which are modern but tasteful and comfortable.
The food is nice at both dinner and breakfast but the service can frequently be hit and miss which can take the shine off either meal. It often seems to be made far more complicated than it needs to be.
The general feel of the hotel with decor and atmosphere is nice which makes for a pleasant stay if on business as a couple or group of friends.
There is free wifi across the hotel which is a fab addition, well done Shendish there are so many hotel that insist on charging for this. The wifi has often been tempremetal and required intervention to get it working but is always does in the end!

The bar is an extension of the restaurant with a poor selection of standard beers and ok service at the usual high hotel prices, I feel the bar could be so much better than it is currently and considering the customers the hotel gets.

So overall a nice location in Kings Langley, with a reasonable room rate. Food is good if a little pricey with service that is hit and miss on the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for my brothers wedding. Everything was superbly set out for them and the day was spectacular. The food and service was very good. My only complaint was we didn't have a bed
Made up in the room for our daughter which when I spoke to reception they apologised and assured me it would be done however on returning from afternoon tea still no bed made again reception assured me that it would be done and again sadly on returning from the wedding evening reception after having a few drinks we had to make up her bed ! However when checking out next day I mentioned it and suitable reduction in the bill showed empathy towards our ordeal at 1am so all in all a fantastic stay was had by my family and I and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After a previously unsatisfactory stay with Shendish Manor, we received an offer from the manager to stay once more in order for them to rectify the situation.
I'm so glad we did. It was the most enjoyable and luxurious hotel experience we have ever had in England, with no exaggeration.
Over the course of our entire stay, we were made to feel like royalty. The room (room 2 in the main building on the first floor) was astoundingly beautiful; a double aspect four-poster room tastefully and elegantly decorated with en-suite roll top bath and separate shower. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel and restaurant was clean, well-managed and visibly manned. The grounds were perfectly manicured (even in the height of Winter) and even offered us several glimpses of the local wildlife. The restaurant had a calm and friendly ambience with music and candles and we found it to be a very romantic experience. The food was obviously a well thought out culmination of seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared and exactly as we requested, served in good time with unobtrusive waiting staff. I ordered the goat's cheese tart, pan-fried sea bass with crushed new potatoes and the lemon tart to finish. And we shared a lovely bottle of Merlot (served at the right temperature!).

It was an altogether special experience and we would love to come back and stay again soon, or perhaps in the Summer when we can picnic in the grounds and walk around the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Pay more for an entirely better room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends to celeberate a Birthday. Rooms clean and comfortable. Check in very quick & receptionist very helpful. We had lunch in the bar which was the triple sandwich. All was ok, until I found a sliver of wood in the side salad! I showed it to a member of the bar staff & he said he would tell the chef. No apology was forthcoming, so I decided to report it to another member of bar staff. She told me that the kitchen staff had a laugh over it - not very professional. She then apologised & said the sliver of wood probably came off wooden crate that the salad was delivered in! This got me thinking - do they wash the salad? The sandwich was very nice. Dinner in the evening, was well presented and very delicious. Breakfast was very good also - there were a couple of gripes though. There were preserves on the table, but a small pot of marmalade had already been opened & used. Secondly, the floor under our table/chairs had not been hoovered & there were crumbs everywhere. Other than just a couple of small issues, we had a good stay at this hotel & would recommend it. Management just need to up their game a little to ensure these small issues are taken care of & not dismissed. Good hotel & would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently tried the food in the restaurant at Shendish Manor as well as a room . This was with a view to holding my sons Weding reception there in May.
We where not dissapointed ,the food is truly superb ,try the blade of Beef with Horseradish Mash . We sampled many other dishes all of which came up to the same standard .
The staff are very helpfull and the old manor house is a very nice place to be.The modern side of the hotel and the golf is also top notch,the extensive grounds wonderfull.
My Sons weding reception is now booked .

Room Tip: Twin beds in the modern side of the Hotel.Standard doubles in the Manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#7 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shendish Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.