We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel , lovely food. Amazing location for a wedding with gorgeous grounds for pictures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shendish Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shendish Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Shendish Manor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel , lovely food. Amazing location for a wedding with gorgeous grounds for pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here recently for my brothers wedding. Everything was superbly set out for them and the day was spectacular. The food and service was very good. My only complaint was we didn't have a bed
Made up in the room for our daughter which when I spoke to reception they apologised and assured me it would be done however on returning from afternoon tea still no bed made again reception assured me that it would be done and again sadly on returning from the wedding evening reception after having a few drinks we had to make up her bed ! However when checking out next day I mentioned it and suitable reduction in the bill showed empathy towards our ordeal at 1am so all in all a fantastic stay was had by my family and I and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    143
    59
    23
    21
See reviews for
72
164
7
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After a previously unsatisfactory stay with Shendish Manor, we received an offer from the manager to stay once more in order for them to rectify the situation.
I'm so glad we did. It was the most enjoyable and luxurious hotel experience we have ever had in England, with no exaggeration.
Over the course of our entire stay, we were made to feel like royalty. The room (room 2 in the main building on the first floor) was astoundingly beautiful; a double aspect four-poster room tastefully and elegantly decorated with en-suite roll top bath and separate shower. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel and restaurant was clean, well-managed and visibly manned. The grounds were perfectly manicured (even in the height of Winter) and even offered us several glimpses of the local wildlife. The restaurant had a calm and friendly ambience with music and candles and we found it to be a very romantic experience. The food was obviously a well thought out culmination of seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared and exactly as we requested, served in good time with unobtrusive waiting staff. I ordered the goat's cheese tart, pan-fried sea bass with crushed new potatoes and the lemon tart to finish. And we shared a lovely bottle of Merlot (served at the right temperature!).

It was an altogether special experience and we would love to come back and stay again soon, or perhaps in the Summer when we can picnic in the grounds and walk around the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Pay more for an entirely better room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends to celeberate a Birthday. Rooms clean and comfortable. Check in very quick & receptionist very helpful. We had lunch in the bar which was the triple sandwich. All was ok, until I found a sliver of wood in the side salad! I showed it to a member of the bar staff & he said he would tell the chef. No apology was forthcoming, so I decided to report it to another member of bar staff. She told me that the kitchen staff had a laugh over it - not very professional. She then apologised & said the sliver of wood probably came off wooden crate that the salad was delivered in! This got me thinking - do they wash the salad? The sandwich was very nice. Dinner in the evening, was well presented and very delicious. Breakfast was very good also - there were a couple of gripes though. There were preserves on the table, but a small pot of marmalade had already been opened & used. Secondly, the floor under our table/chairs had not been hoovered & there were crumbs everywhere. Other than just a couple of small issues, we had a good stay at this hotel & would recommend it. Management just need to up their game a little to ensure these small issues are taken care of & not dismissed. Good hotel & would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently tried the food in the restaurant at Shendish Manor as well as a room . This was with a view to holding my sons Weding reception there in May.
We where not dissapointed ,the food is truly superb ,try the blade of Beef with Horseradish Mash . We sampled many other dishes all of which came up to the same standard .
The staff are very helpfull and the old manor house is a very nice place to be.The modern side of the hotel and the golf is also top notch,the extensive grounds wonderfull.
My Sons weding reception is now booked .

Room Tip: Twin beds in the modern side of the Hotel.Standard doubles in the Manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed here a few times with work now and it's a lovely place, both evening meal and breakfast are good. Rates are reasonable and the staff are pleasant. Not far from the train station and parking is very good. The rooms are very nicely done with really comfy beds and flat screen TV's. This is one of only a couple hotels I have stayed in where the free wifi actually works! Yep overall spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

lovely venue great surroundings in the summer - in the snow not so pleasing. great welcome and ambience all round but our room although luxurious - shower boiling hot with no controls to moderate the temperature so spoilt the stay a bit. the evening meal and the breakfast made up for it though and we had a shower when we got home! husband got lost in the hotel as the lift controls a little confusing and not very clearly indicated when you were on the floor where the Reception area was. quite amusing stay altogether!

Room Tip: ask at reception whether the water temperature in room 4 has been resolved
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting family nearby, and couldn't fault our stay. Nothing was too much trouble, reception staff were very helpful, bedroom was very comfortable. Lovely quiet setting despite being close to a main road. Far superior to (and less expensive than) the hotel we stayed at on our previous visit. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#7 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shendish Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.