We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a courtyard area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boxmoor Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a courtyard area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night on business.

The hotel was clean and rooms had everything you would need for an overnight stay. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. I need to know the make of the muesli they had......very nice.

The hotel has good road and rail links with the station being no more than 2 mins walk.

I will stay again as I come to Hemel several times a year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    30
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
45
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked in here for an overnight stay for a wedding. We found the staff helpful and cheerful throughout. The room was very clean and of a good quality. The breakfast was excellent (made to order) with tasty accompaniments. Would thoroughly recommend the lodge as a better value and quality alternative to the chain hotels nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in August 2013 1 adult and 2 kids 12, 10 as an overnight stop before going to Harry Potter world. Had 1 room with double bed and sofa. very clean, had to ask for extra bedding and towels, cam with no bother, didnt have evening meal. Lovely home cooked breakfast next morning. Very close to Harry Potter. Overall good experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and the staff are first class, the meal in the restaurant was amazing and the wine selection superb!

We only stayed the one night as we had an early appointment the next day, when we explained the staff were excellent in giving us some history of Boxmoor and how to make sure we had breakfast before we left.

All in all a lovey trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I would just like to thank Boxmoor Lodge for their recent help with a function I was helping one of my family members organise. From the moment I spoke to Mark the Manager nothing was too much trouble. He bent over backwards to accomodate their requirements for a function in their beautiful Marquee. Look no further in you want a celebration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary. Original attraction was Aylesbury duck on the menu. Hotel and the duck exceeded all our expectations. Everyone was so friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and value for money. Having Breakfast cooked to order was a bonus and was first class. Would recommend highly and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

me and my family stayed in the boxmoor lodge hotel for one night.our room was fab with a double bed and a double settee bed,it was spotlessly clean,with a newly fitted bathroom with walk in shower.our breakfast was scrummy with a wide range of cereals,fruit,toast,fruit juice,and the full English.lovely surroundings.great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was number 19.My sister had number 16 with the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Address: London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boxmoor Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.