We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boxmoor Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Almoradi, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoyed a 3 night stay from 5th December 2012. Literally everything was really nice at this hotel. We mark it as excellent because of a great mixture of comfort and value.

Clean, comfortable and cosy. The bathroom is dated but has everything you need including a great shower. The heating is easily controllable by thermostatic valves, and there is a good TV, comfy chairs, a radio with an I pod dock and also free WiFi.

Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The dining/breakfast room is very nice indeed, as is the cooked to order breakfast. There is also free parking on site.

The hotel is very close to the main line station and also to the Fisheries pub and restaurant, which is canal-side. The negatives are so tiny that they are not worth mentioning.

Room Tip: We chose a downstairs room. They are all 'remote' from the main building so if you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
40
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Boxmoor Lodge for 5 nights and were impressed with every thing about the stay. The room was very cosey, clean, comfortable and roomy. The room was warm and the shower was nice and hot too. We liked the little things like a nice choice of hot drinks and cookies, the ipod dock and the extra pillows. There was a supply of shampoo etc in the bath room and the towels were on a warmer. The people in reception and dining were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and there was plenty to choose from. We had a meal at the restaurant and it was really delicious and filling. The gardens are lovely. It is close to transport, the station is about 5 minutes walk and there are buses going past the lodge. I would definItely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Made a change from a normal hotel - parked outside front door which opened into our room. Comfortable in every respect and had every thing you would expect. Bathroom dated but not lacking in facilities. Short walk to restaurant for excellent breakfast and complimentary newspapers. Close to rail station and 1/2 hour trip to Euston. Would definitely go again, but maybe not in hot weather - open windows would expose you to the noise made by the many trains passing through HH at speed.

Room Tip: We had room 2 on ground floor. Some rooms were up steps on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a nice little hotel, does exactly what you need.
Room decor is a bit tired, but they've thrown in a few modern touches - LCD TV, iPod dock, and although the rooms were from early 90's it wasn't tatty.
Bathroom clean, and as much hot water from the power shower as you need.
Room warm and comfy, and nice bed.
It's not a romantic spa break type place, think functional motel style. Crossroads!
Breakfast nice, and staff all helpful.

We bought through a late deal site and paid £80. Felt about right really, could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: We had room 17, which seemed nice and quiet, and ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great place to stay and close to the centre of Hemel Hempstead. A warm greeting and a lovely room with new bathroom facilities. For less than £80 a real bargain all set in a colourful flower garden with generous parking. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 14-17 as they are furtest from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here as simply a place to crash as a friend nearby was having a party. The hotel is not so appealing took at - bit like a US style motel - but the room was clean, large and the bed very comfortable. We had tried premier travel inn first but was fully booked and this place was a perfectly good alternative. The staff were very friendly and although the bacon at breakfast was way too salty and cheap, the atmosphere was relaxed. I wouldn't want to stay here as a proper hotel break but as a one night stop off it was fine.

Room Tip: We had room number 7 which was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My sister and I booked Boxmoor Lodge at short notice for a funeral reception for our Dad. As neither of us lives in Hemel Hempstead any longer, and many guests had to travel, we wanted somewhere easily located and convenient for those travelling home afterwards.

We booked the Funeral High Tea at £17 per person and it was marvellous. Freshly prepared, very tasty and plenty of it. I would highly recommend the Roast Beef filled Mini Yorkshires - there was nothing "mini" about them. With tea and coffee on hand throughout, plus the bar, everyone was fed and watered well. Served in the Conservatory Restaurant, with 30 guests it was amply big enough but not too large that we felt lost in there. Lovely atmosphere.

Mark and Ruth Hicks, the Managers, were just great. Couldn't fault the ease of booking, or the service on the day.

It was one of the hottest days in July this year, so during the afternoon everyone migrated with their drinks to the sheltered patio area with the lovely flower beds around it.

Ironically, Dad would have loved it but we gave him an excellent send off.

A sad occasion at a stressful time, but Boxmoor Lodge helped us make this a very fitting occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Address: London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boxmoor Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.