We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at a travel lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway to your Saves list
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“First stay at a travel lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easy to find. Free car park outside the hotel was a bonus. Hotel staff polite and helpful. Room spotless. Nice to have the facilities of the café, pizza venue and Toby carvery on site.
First visit and won't be the last!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    75
    32
    11
    20
See reviews for
91
54
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting the Snow Centre (a £5 taxi ride away). Very clean, plenty room, good value. Ate at Toby Carvery on ground floor, also good. Friendly staff, easy check in. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed in travelodges before I can honestly say this is one of the best I've been to. I found the bed comfortable and the room quite spacious. Yes there are a few scuff marks on the wall and no bedside table but at £34 a night I was quite satisfied. I enjoyed the breakfast and thought the selection was good. The location was ideal for visiting the harry potter studios. The only downsides were the kids' beds in the family room were a bit hard and there was no bathroom lock however I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On arrival the car park was looked untidy as the bins were overflowing but put this down to the other amenities on the complex. The main issue was that I couldn't get into the room I was allocated and instead of putting me in another room straight away the went about searching for a screw driver to change the batteries on the door lock. When I eventually did get another room, this hadn't even been made up from the previous occupant. So after several trips up and down the lift, with my luggage, I finally got a room which I could get into (only after about 10 tries with the key) The room was opposite the entrance to the floor so had a lot of noise from the door and other occupants and to top it off the kettle stopped working! The staff were helpful and gave me a full refund on the room but I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight stay here whilst visiting the Harry Potter Warner Brothers Tour. The hotel was fantastic value with excellent staff.
Rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We booked a family room and even the smaller beds were very comfortable. Perfect shower pressure which I am fussy about.
We grabbed and evening meal which was lovely, drinks were pricey though.
Ideally located 10 minutes in the car away from the Harry Potter Studio Tour so this was an ideal location. Very easy to find travelling from the North via M1.
Parking is great and free of charge which was a bonus and there is even a dominos pizza, subway and Toby inn. One thing I will say, although the self service all you can eat breakfast was great costing £7.50 and kids free, the Toby car very do the same for £3.99 which was just as nice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIdlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

next to a busy road..very noisy traffic, hot room but if you open the window then you cant sleep due to the traffic all night long, I have never been so tired in all my life being awake all night, staff were unhelpful when we voiced our concerns the staff member replied 'oh' not exactly helpful at all

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was easy to find, free parking and rooms were nice.
Staff went above and beyond their duty to make us feel looked after and comfortable. Would not hesitate to return again.
Top Service, great staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Address: Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.