We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYTHING YOU NEED!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway to your Saves list
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Devon England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING YOU NEED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here to visit the Harry Potter Studio Tour - it is only about a 15 minute drive away so excellent location. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Evening meal in hotel was very good - lots of choice and very reasonable. However there is a Dominoes and Toby Carvery downstairs as alternative. Easy access to London. All round an excellent hotel and location.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    66
    24
    9
    18
See reviews for
77
45
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am a huge fan of a Travelodge, The are reliable, as you know what you are getting!

We paid £44 for a Saturday night, which is a fantastic rate! The room was clean, tidy and warm. We had a good night sleep with friendly staff, what more can you ask for!

Great stay :)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked into the Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway, for a nights sleep on the way to a day watching Snooker at Alexandra Palace, but didn't manage to get any.
On arrival, checkin staff were OK, though it did take 10 minutes to find my booking and actually get checked in!
Got to the room, and the heating wax on max, on a mild day. What a waste of energy!
However, the worst part of the hotel, was the constant droning from the air conditioning ducting, that ran up the side of the rooms walls. It was incessant, and continued all night. I brought this to the attention of the staff at reception, and they said that i couldn't move rooms.
In the morning, i went to complain, but was told that the manager was 'too busy', and the on-duty clerk promised that i would receive a discount against my next trip.
Guess what, no e-mail, or discount has been received.
Avoid room 717, at all costs, unless you like the sound of air condition ducting running all night.
Travelodge, may be cheap, but certainly isn't cheerfull!

Room Tip: Make sure you pack ear plugs. Avoid room 717, at all costs, unless you like the sound of air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Many thanks for submitting your review. We want all aspects of our guests’ stay with us to reflect our high standards so we are very sorry to learn that you did not have a good night’s sleep as a result of the noise you experienced in your room. We would like to offer a resolution so please provide us with more information on the contact us section on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are very clean and the staff are awesome very welcomeing becky Kelly Michelle to tom well all staff are brill great lot to chat to and have a laugh and the food was lovely really enjoyed my stay there

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times and always try here first if we need a stop over and have only paid around £30/night for a family room. The rooms are new and spacious for our family and we tend to get a dominos deal from the ground floor takeaway. There is also a Toby Carvery and Subway on the groundfloor with plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very quite stay, excellent for the M25 and the M1 good parking the bed had a dip in the middle but for the price a good place to stay. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do more to help with whatever we wanted.


  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only about a mile off the M!. A large free car park which is always a perk. The staff were welcoming and my wife and I had a family room as we had our granddaughter with us. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. The only snag was that we were unable to lock the bathroom door. After a good nights sleep we had a really lovely breakfast.
We started with a good choice of cereals, which included yogurts. The cooked breakfast was delicious with a good choice, bacon which was the best cut, tomatoes, beans, eggs and sausages. To finish there was toast, cakes and as much tea, coffee that you required.
The breakfast was self service and was faultless.
If we are ever in that part of the country again then this would always be our stopping point.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappiontment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Address: Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.