We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
New Romney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hot night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

don't stay here in warm/hot weather. No ventilation or air con in rooms. temperatures to hot to get a nights sleep
The window in the room is secured so that it can't open more than about 5cm which is'nt enough to let any air into the room. A sticky uncomfortable restless night due to the heat

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    41
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
44
25
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ideally situated just off the M1. Eating places outside. Reception on first floor, efficient lift. Staff friendly and helpful. Never hid the fact it was hot. Fan provided that did the job. Good value as a stop on a long journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The friendly and welcoming team at the hotel were fully aware of the room temperature problems they were encountering and provided a few solutions that were meant to make our stay more comfortable, however there was NOTHING done to fully resolve the problem as this is a poorly designed building with the massive issue of non-existent air conditioning or decent natural ventilation in any of the bedroom facilities. This in turn ruined our what otherwise would have been a pleasant and comfortable experience due to the well equipped and clean and tidy updated rooms. Either install a decent air conditioning solution within the building or DO NOT let the rooms out when the hotel is VERY HOT, trying to get a good nights sleep in a room that is between 30-40°C overnight is NOT ACCEPTABLE not to mention near enough IMPOSSIBLE. Top Tip: Stay in mild or cooler weather, DO NOT BOOK IN SUMMER!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A bit of a belated review. But stayed here in April of this year for my girlfriends birthday. The guy on reception was so helpful and friendly. He helped me pick out of bottle of wine to go in the room, made up a lovely ice bucket with some chocolaty treats in it and was very charming. We had booked a 2 night stay and have to say the beds are so comfy, as were the pillows. the views out of the rooms aren't to die for but nonetheless there isn't much to see in hemel anyway. overall the stay was lovely, the only thing is provisions at reception, no one wants to pay a fiver for toothpaste from a machine.

Room Tip: get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have to agree with 'HappyTravellers222' review we stayed on Saturday night and agree that the staff were lovely, the hotel was clean and newly decorated, easy to find with a large car park. Everything you would want from a budget hotel. I also couldn't sleep because of the heat and if you open the window you get the noise from the main road. I went down to reception at 4am to get some water out of the machine only to find it didn't have any!!!!! There was no sign of anyone so I went back to my hot room to try to sleep. My daughter pointed out we should have stayed at a Premier Inn which is what we usually do but their rooms were more expensive and I couldn't have imagined that it would be so hot, lesson learned cheaper is not always better!!! We have stayed in numerous Travelodge's over the last few years and never had this problem, I presume it's the design of the building, we were on the 4th floor and I guess it gets hotter the further up you go. We were out of our room by 7am after only a few hours sleep it ruined Sunday for us as we were so tired. Needless to say we won't be staying here in the summer again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked to stay for 3 days, was aware of the issues and reviews on here with regards to the heat, but decided to book anyway.
Please don't follow suit!
Arrived to a very friendly receptionist who said we could see the room before checking in. Entering the 2nd floor lobby was like being smacked in the face with a wall of hot air, stifling and close!
The fan in the room wasn't effective pushing hot air around the room!
We decided not to stay expecting an argument about a refund. So very surprised when offered a full refund from Tom, who explained that we weren't the first not to stay that day whom he had refunded! Customer service at its best demonstrated by Tom, who deserves a pat on the back for the way he has presumably had to handle things over the last few weeks!
Please Travelodge, sort things out! Your beds are comfy and you offer really good value, just be a wee bit cooler than hell next time please!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We decided to stay at the Travel Lodge at Hemel Hempstead after a great night at the theatre. The first thing to say is that the hotel is easy to find, and car parking is open and on the flat. I must state that we felt really uneasy about leaving our car there, due to the number of so called " Boy Racers " driving at speed around the car park.
The greeting that we received at the 1st floor reception was very good indeed, this was due to a member of the team who's name is Edward. He is first class, he loves his job and it shows, in the way he performs his duties - very well done to him.
We had a quick drink at the bar, The prices were reasonable, and the service good.
As we got to our floor, the heat hit us like a ton of bricks, it was even worse in our bedroom. Yes, Travel Lodge provided a fan, but it could not cope with the heat. The window as you may have guessed could only open a couple of inches, which ever individual decided on this policy should be fired. We have just arrived back from three weeks in Europe, where the windows all open fully,and I did not notice anyone throwing themselves out - this type of nanny state nonsense makes my blood boil, literally as it was so unbelievably hot in the room.

Our room was facing a very busy road, which was busy all night, I know as I only got one hours sleep. What is the point of Travel Lodge doing up their rooms and re training their staff if they are not going to take into account the room temperature.to the Directors of this company, let me let you into a little secret, it's called AIR CONDITIONING. As a retired Main Board Director,of various large companies, we also owned and ran a highly successful hotel. We stay in lots of Hotels, so I feel well placed to make the comment, that Travel Lodge management need to get a grip, yes I know air con costs money, but it also makes your guests stay far more comfortable. Which is your aim in life.
T/L are really trying to improve their business, and it shows in so many areas, But their failure to consider air conditioning is a massive mistake. Thank goodness we are staying in London for a week in a hotel which has this modern convenience, yes you've guessed it , it is not a Travel Lodge. At cooler times of the year,this TL may be OK, but take my advice, in the summer months - stay well away,unless of course you suffer from insomnia, or enjoy trying to sleep in a sauna.
Finally, I reported all of my concerns to the duty manager, a young man called Tom. He was very good, and gave us a part refund and free breakfast to help make up for everything, however we really wanted a good nights sleep.
It should be noted that the room cleaning staff are doing a great job, but should not be expected to work so hard in such heat.


Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Summer, no air con and the rooms are tremendously hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway

Address: Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.