We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun new year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
69-71 High Street, Old Town, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 122 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a fun new year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to celeb rate new year there's always a good atmosphere and the food and service were as good as usual. Didn't feel rushed as sometimes happens in restaurants when busy. Ali the owner always puts party poppers and blowers on the tables and a bottle of Cava for each table at midnight.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    7
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

First visit and found the staff very efficient and helpful. Food was first class and choices of dishes was good. Menus looked old and worn could do with a reprint. But otherwise Resturant was good value parking was easy
Bill was very reasonable

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good food. Smaller portions. Slow Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A group of us had food here recently. The first thing I noticed was the decor, it's horrible and I don't think it's changed in 10+ years. The side walls are painted yellow and have meaningless artwork the same colour, there is a skanky see through purple silk curtain covering one of the doors. The back wall is magnolia which does not look good at all. Luckily the food itself is very good and you quickly forget about everything else. Their hygiene rating is also 5 out of 5. The portion sizes are smaller than your average curry house which is great because who can ever finish their dinner? I did notice my curry was very greasy but it did taste good. The service is slow and waiters were not the friendliest. We had to wait a long time for drinks and also our bill. This is generally a good curry house and I would return but I do prefer the Sahara in Hemel a bit more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went here for dinner recently. The service is appalling, the food bland, meat curries have literally one piece of meat in them, and the manager is extremely rude.

How this place is still going given the other excellent options on the high street is beyond me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night with a group of friends. Had reserved a table and despite being busy we were taken straight to the table. Service was extremely good, each time I looked round from the table a waiter came over to check that we were ok. Food very good standard Indian. Popadums and drinks were at the table within minutes of sitting down, there was a slight delay in starters but the waiter bought a free plate of garlic mushrooms for the table to share. Timing between courses pretty much perfect and to finish the meal a free after dinner drink of your choosing. Couldn't fault anything.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.