We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saffron Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
69-71 High Street, Old Town, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 113 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Saffron Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited on Sunday Banquet Night, excellent value for money, nice atmosphere in restaurant and very busy with customers, so that was a good sign, food very good and the bonus was, it wasn't over salty and tasted fresh, some Indian restaurants douse there food with salt and this is something I don't like.

I certain would come back again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    7
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a great restaurant, with polite and attentive staff offering a diverse range of food (including a wide selection on vegetarian dishes)
The food is clean and tastes excellent. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant to on anyone who likes Indian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top class Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Saffron in my opinion is simply the best Indian Restaurant I have ever had the pleasure visiting.

I took a recommendation from Google and it was great. Politely greeted on entry and shown to our pre booked table without waiting or the waiters trying to sell you drinks at the bar.

We were seated in a window seat which always nice to watch the world walk by. The table was well presented with fresh flowers very clean cutlery, plates and glasses.

We were asked if we wished to have a dirk while we pondered over the menu and were allowed plenty on time to choose. We asked for advice on how some of the dishes were made and the waiting team were knowledgeable on the menu make up and ow the dishes were put together.

Once we had chosen the starter tuned up within 5 minuets with mains arriving within 10 mins of finishing them.

Through out the meal the team asked the usual questions around if we were enjoying and reacted when feedback was given.

When we finished our meal we were allowed to finish the wine in peace and quiet and not hurried out of the door as with some restaurants.

The bill was very reasonable for 2 starters, 2 main, 2 rice, 1 naan, 1 bottle of red wine and a beer. £46 was excellent value. Cannot wait to go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Oops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited tonight and were greeted by very welcoming and attentive staff who sat us down at our table and were quick to take our drink order and lay napkins in our laps

To our horror and embarrassment we discovered we had come to the wrong restaurant (rest of the group were on the other side of town) and the staff were even kind enough to help us leave quickly and not charge us for the food/drink ordered!

Will be coming back here soon, this time without leaving after 10mins!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited this evening for the first time, really friendly service, good food, the menu is a bit more interesting than some. Good price. A recommended Indian on the basis of this visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.