We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired & Dated....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Worcestershire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tired & Dated....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn overnight on business recently. It’s ideally located for access to the M1 being only 5 minutes from Junction 8. The staff were friendly & helpful and check in/out was quick & efficient.

My room was a decent size, but was very tired, dated & grubby and was in desperate need of refurbishment. This dated feel also extends to some of the public areas of the hotel.

Breakfast wasn’t too bad; a decent choice for the cooked option, but the continental breakfast didn’t seem to have much choice compared to other hotels I have stayed at.

I will stay here again on business, but if it was a personal visit, I would probably look for a more modern hotel.

Room Tip: Tip: don’t put your door key card next to your mobile phone in your pocket or bag as it wipes the ca...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us, I am pleased that our staff met your expectations. We are undergoing a gradual refresh so a noticed improvement should be seen in the future.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    109
    38
    16
    14
See reviews for
97
45
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

An average hotel.

Staff are pleasant enough.

Dinner is ok. Overpriced for what it is though.

Breakfast is ok.

Rooms are clean, good facilities and a good size.

There is also an onsite health club.

The only massive downside was being able to hear snoring through the walls. Exceptionally loud snoring!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities, other than the noise from the next room.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights for a trip to Wembley Stadium. It is about 1-2 miles off the M1 with a large car park and convenience store/garage next to it. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet. The room had a queen bed, a sofa, A/C and tea/coffee making facilities. There was no in-room safe. There was a decent pool too with a steam room and sauna. The breakfast was full english breakfast with cereal, fruit, ham, cheese and selections of breads and pastries. The evening meal had a good choice from the menu and you could also eat in the bar area too.
The hotel is convenient for trips into London. We drove 8-9 miles to Watford Junction where there is a huge car park and then took the train into Euston. It is also very convenient if visiting Harry Potter World - about 6-7 miles away.
Slept very well and had an enjoyable 2 nights. This was our 2nd stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for feedback after your recent stay, I am pleased that we met your expectations. We are proving very popular with guests visiting Harry Potter which is located very near to our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Jill Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel which is what's expected of a holiday inn. Rooms nice, staff friendly, food average (except the steak which is super chewy - avoid) Worth its money for what it is. Bar area quite niceabd relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay other than the disappointment with the steak. Should you have problems again please contact myself or my Operations Manager via the hotel.

Kind regards
Jill Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, Manchester
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Holiday Inn Express, Chester we were impressed by the calibre of these hotels. We were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to find, just off the M1, and with good parking. The reception was smooth and easy and we were given an upgrade to executive class. The room was on the first floor and very quiet with bath and shower, dressing gowns, minibar etc. We went for the Cup Final (but that's another story!), so had an evening in the bar on Friday where we found the prices normal for Southern standards. Next morning we were both impressed by the choice of breakfasts, continental, full English, choices of juices etc. They filled us up for most of the day! On the Saturday night we dined in the hotel restaurant and had an absolutely gorgeous rump steak! I like my steaks rare and mine was perfect! Only criticism was the lack of hot water in the morning. The shower was hot, but the basin hot tap didn't provide hot water, just above tepid. But, I won't be long before my next visit and heartily recommend this chain of hotels and this hotel in particular.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay including our extensive breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Jill Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice hotel with nice public areas. Bar food very limited but okay. Had an issue with my drink of choice - bottles of Pedigree. After having had 2 bottles I was told they could no longer sell it! Ale lovers beware!

There is gym that is a bit on the small side but does have a good number of machines. There is also a nice pool with a sauna and jacuzzi. Very good if you are on business staying alone as it gives you something to do.

The rooms are comfortable with a decent bed as you would expect. The bathroom has a low shower which would be fine if you are 5ft 5". There is no extractor fan and the mirror gets very steamed up. Have a shave first!

Go at the back of the hotel away from the dual carriageway. I found it very quiet given where you are.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Another good stay at this HI. We always use this one for our trips into London. Great value for money and great location. Surprised they have put the cost of breakfast up to £17 which is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.