We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was very good, clean, comfortable and had a double bed and a single bed for our 9 year old, rather than the usual pull out settee which was nice. The hotel has a sauna, steam room and good sized pool which was well used by the families staying there but didn't feel crowded.
The restaurant I had mixed feelings about, the main courses were very good but the children's food wasn't great..very small portions and not very exciting looking or tasting. The waiter service that was automatically added to my bill was very poor and I was very unimpressed. Breakfast, there was plenty of choice -all self service but I thought it was lacking in flavour and was a bit disappointed.
Very close and convenient for the Harry Potter tour if that's why you're headed this way and we got the room at a good price (although upon booking in, we discovered breakfast was extra which is unusual for Holiday Inns). Would use again if had reason to be in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with the food in our restaurant, this will be fed back to our Head Chef. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    152
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
128
61
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with work and was having a chilled evening in my spacious and comfy room when I managed to trip a fuse causing the tv to stop working!! The staff attended immediately and fixed the problem. Well done, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback I am pleased my team were able to assist you promptly and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed over night 2/3/13 with National Holidays, for the Harry Potter tour the next day.Even before we got off the coach, we were made to feel welcome, by a lovely young man, who brought the room cards to save us waiting. He also greeted us at our meals,and is a credit to the hotel. Loved the hotel, staff were excellent, always smiling and so helpful, room was lovely ,the evening meal and breakfast were great with plenty of choice. They had an area just for the kids, showing Harry Potter movies, with drinks and snacks. Im planning to go back to Harry Potter, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel because were were going to the Harry Potter Studio Tour which is not too far away. It is also close to lovely St Albans. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. I thought the decor was looking a bit tired; especially the woodwork but I couldn't fault the cleanliness. Despite not being too far away from the M1 and right on a busy dual carriageway it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very popular with Harry Potter visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

thank you for a lovely stay. the manager lazuras, was so welcoming and sincere. rooms were modern and clean. very comfy bed. food was very nice and i ate far to much at dinner. it is modern and light. it is very close to the harry potter studio tour and i think would be a great choice for anyone visiting that area. only thing, i wish id known they had a pool as i didnt pack our cossies...
all in all very good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Usual high standard Holiday inn.

Bar area spacious and comfortable.
Comfortable and clean room, good nights sleep.
Breakfast great.

Staff very helpfull, Gym and pool very good.

As others have said, good base for Harry Potter studio tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased your enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm sorry to write this.
This is my second experience with this hotel, I didn't write my opinion the first time, just because it was "in average", nothing really interesting for the people.
But this time I was really disappointed:
arrived about 7:00pm, the room was freezing. I had to turn the heating on at the maximum power and I had to use 2 blankets; but, above all, the bath was really dirty: spots and hair.
I didn't take the shower because of that.
However, my worst suprise was the 2nd day coming back from work: the bath was still as it was; nobody cleaned it although the room was made..
My fault was that I had to complain, but I didn't.

Not only negative things: dinner was very good and breakfast excellent.

I want to believe that this was just an unlucky experience, and next time will be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied during your stay with us. If you wish to discuss further please contact myself or my Operations Manager, Russell Phillips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.