We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised RS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Atherstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasantly Surprised RS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I plus two friends stayed one night as part of a coach company weekend package to the capital, we were met on the coach by the manager who handed out room keys etc. enabling us to go straight to our room without the hassle of having to wait around at the desk. He was very pleasant as were his staff which I feel rubbed off his leadership. Evening meal was a set carvery which was adequate, breakfast excellent. The two rooms which were occupied by our party were clean and comfy. We wouldn't hesitate to use this again.
Well managed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Once again Lazarus has offered great service to our guests, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    132
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
115
50
21
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent welcome by Lazarus. Rooms very clean, large and airy. Buffet dinner (carvery), excellent. A superb choice of starters and desserts. Pleasant and helpful staff. Pity the drinks were overpriced!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for your comments, especially the comments about Lazarus, he is becoming a bit of a celebrity on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband, special needs son and I stayed 1 night as part of an organised 'all inclusive' group.
We were met on the coach by Lazarus who was very courteous and extremely efficient, as were all the staff we encountered on entering the hotel and making our way to our room. He personally handed out our room keys while we were still on the coach and made us feel very welcome. Our meal was excellent and one of the best carvery meals we have had and all the dining room staff at breakfast and dinner were, again efficient, friendly and courteous. Sometimes on these 'all inclusive' coach packages we have been made to feel very much the 'poor relation' herded into a corner of the dining area so as not to annoy the PROPER guests! This was not the the case here. EXCELLENT ALL ROUND!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, especially regarding my team. We believe all guests are "proper" guest!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. We only stayed one night but would definately recommend this hotel. The pool was lovely with the best hot tub. Only thing I would say is make sure you dont adjoin the bridal suite!!

Room Tip: upgrade to deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your great reivew. I look forward to sharing your comments with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We tried for an early check in but they were busy so arrived back at hotel late, however staff had done all needed and it was a swift key collection and away to standard room. On checking I found that the use of Trivago to check the price has meant we were an agency booking, which I did not want. Must remember to get the iata number taken off next time.Breakfast was not a great sensation as all self service including tea and coffee from thermos flasks , cool was the word not good for a hot drink!No black pudding and on the second day cold fried eggs.Next moan, smokers huddling in the front doorway so you had to face the fug to get into the hotel, Maybe they could arrange a gazebo nearby as there is plenty of room in the gardens.Next there were problems with the room. No bulb in bathroom,the door chain was replaced and then did not fit, the window did not close due to something obstructing the bottom of the window
So maintenance was poor.Pluses pool and all staff were fine parking good
However we come to a major problem. The staff at the hotel were aware that the power was to be turned off on Sunday morning.there was a small sign on the front desk on the Sunday Morning and no signs on the lifts or any information in the rooms . No one knew except for the front desk staff and this could have been a major problem if someone was not advies and was in the lift. This to my mind was very poor and reduced the rating for the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Due to the points that you have raised in your review either myself or my Operations Manager would like the chance to speak to you regarding your comments. I look forward to speaking to you at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in September as I was working in the area. Checking in was a breeze. Nice big room. Quiet location. I had a room close to the gym but experienced no noise from there. Nice pool and sauna. Food was very good in the bar area. 5min cab ride to the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such positive comments, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this hotel due to a business trip to Hemel. Me and some of my colleagues chose this hotel as it is very close to our offices.

I arrived in the afternoon and got an standard room in the first floor. When I arrived I was shocked to see how dirty was the room. Stains in the toilet, the bathtub full of sand, the window frames very dirty and big spider on it. I went to reception and asked them politely to change me to another room or clean it immediately. The staff put bad face and told me they would send somebody to check. I went out of the hotel for 4 hours and when I came back to my surprise nothing had been done. Again I went to reception and same story. As room was not cleaned I had to take soap and one towel and clean by myself. Being in many hotels in my life I never experienced this, and this is totally improper by a so called 4 star hotel belonging to an international chain. Being also a Priority Club Gold member I expect to be treated better than this (even I had to contact Priority Club to add the points to my account as the staff did not do this task even that i provided my number).

I understand the room may have not been used for long time and somebody forgot to clean and to check, but once one customer complains about extreme dirtiness in the room the problem must be fixed immediately!

I used the swimming pool once. The installations are fine but quite dated. Being a health club, there are many non-guests using them, so they are usually crowded.

Breakfast is below average to what I have experienced at other Holiday Inn hotels.

Hotel has free parking outside of the building. There is no free wifi at the hotel, although this is normal at Holiday Inn.

Overall, a bad experience due to negligent staff. Now I understand why some colleagues who had been here prefer to stay at other hotels even that they are further to the office. It is quite unlikely I will stay there on my next business trip to Hemel.

Room Tip: avoid the standard rooms and check that they are clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience, please contact either myself or Russell Phillips to discuss further, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.