We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
corby
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped for one night while meeting friends nearby, loads of parking despite a wedding in the grounds. All staff I met were very helpful and friendly, the food was good and breakfast hot. The room was ok but a little gloomy being a first floor annex room looking out on to a lawn at rear with what looked like freshly planted conifers right by the window so within a couple of years gloomy won't be the word to describe the room interior, it'll be pitch black. The bed was as hard as nails and we had the worst night sleep ever mainly because somebody had a bonfire sometime that day and the entire hotel stank of woodsmoke . Whoever lit that needs a kick in the butt!, apart from that we thought it a good hotel in a pleasant location, would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    80
    65
    24
    25
See reviews for
33
52
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we stayed at the watermill, can't complain about it, although it could do with a power shower. It was very clean and maids came and tidied the room every day and provided bottles of water and clean towels and bedding. The meal there was lovely, a bigger portion would of been nice(but i'm greedy, lol). Would deffo stay there again. We had a family room with a double and two single beds, it was spot on for our family of four. All staff were very helpful and took great care in making sure that every thing was good. The breakfast was help yourself so everybody was happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your last stay at our Hotel.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the room you stayed in. I will pass on your comments to the chef, in respect to the meal portion. Thank for such a delightful feedback on your stay, I will pass on all the comments to the staff. I am sure everyone will thrilled to see such positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I chose this hotel mainly for its location, Staying just one night on business. I use Best Western fairly regularly as you never quite know what to expect as opposed to the major chains which tend to be rather samey and corporate.
Reception staff friendly and efficient. Parked my car just outside my room which was handy for return trips to collect all those things I had forgotten. My room was great, good work area and the wifi ( included in the price) worked pretty well if a bit slow at times. Bathroom was of a very high standard. Two bottles of water and biscuits along with usual tea and coffee making facilities.
Ate in the main restaurant in the evening. Two course £16.95 and was very pleasant. Waiters were very professional and attentive. Menu was a little limited but adequate.
Outside is a very attractive decked area overlooking water that feeds the mill running beneath part of the hotel.
Breakfast served from 7.00 was fine with various choices.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to fellow travellers and will certainly be using it again myself.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I am a regular customer to the chain and no that they are independently owned.this place was a nice hotel with greens and river going thru but to top the uniqueness it had an watermill. The staff on the check in was good we where given a hand with our luggage. We had the promotional wine that they had on, which was not bad at all.. We did not dine as we were having a meal with family else where... Overall service at breakfast was good and they had good qaulity items.. I will come back to stay here when we are back down to visit the family again...

Room Tip: Try and go for the promotion if they have got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Jacey,


I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Watermill. Please be rest assured that i will pass your comments on to the team who i know will be delighted. We are delighted to hear you choose the special wine that we had on offer.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because the London hotels were charging a small fortune for rooms during the Olympics. The staff were friendly and the room comfortable but a little hot, we needed to have the window open to cool it down a bit so we could sleep. the sound of the water from the watermill running outside helped send me to sleep. Due to having to leave before breakfast was served we asked for room service at 5am which was appreciated. On the morning we had breakfast in the restaurant there was plenty of food to choose from which kept us full all morning.The hotel is probably ready for a re-furb in some areas but for the money it was good. Would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review based on your recent stay at Best Western the Watermill Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our cheaper Olympic rates. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I would like to thank you for the positive comments. I shall pass on your comments about the staff on to our team who I know ill be delighted to hear the feedback.

Thank you for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Watermill is an inviting hotel situated close to all the town amenities. Notwithstanding the fact that the room was small, it had good features and a pleasant courtyard view. The best hotel feature by far was the lovely dining room overlooking the old Watermill stream which dissects the hotel.

The staff were absolutely lovely and couldnt do enough for me. A great breakfast choice was on offer along with attentive staff. Definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room oeverlooking the courtyard for the view and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Lovely location. First impression, large room and all looked hopeful. We asked for quiet, but got one overlooking main road. No a/c and no fan. Poor organisation on a hot night. Needed water in middle of night: notice over (stained and crazed) basin in bathroom advised not to drink from tap. No bottled water in room. Beds not good - Full English Breakfast even worse - all overcooked and dry: coffee undrinkable. This could be a great place to stay IF you choose a good room: ensure there is bottled water and opt for the Continental breakfast. Manager apologetic the following morning, by which time it was too late. They need to get their act together and listen to what their customers need. Yes, we will stay again IF they listen to what we need. Reasonable value if all goes well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, away from main road, and away from noisy (but beautiful) water mill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.