We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I spy nice pies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes

The Three Horseshoes
Pouchen End Lane, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RZ, England
+44 01442 862 585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 113 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Buckinghamshire England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I spy nice pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We've used this pub a few times over the last 7 or 8 years. Never been disappointed. Food, beer, service and atmosphere have always been good for us. Being right by the canal it is wonderful on a sunny day. But we went there in Feb on a rainy day, we were allowed to take our dogs into the bar area - they're not allowed in the restaurant, which is fair enough. The open fire with logs burning not only kept the place warm, it really is nice to sit by. We both had a home made pie - mine was full of Meat & Kidney, my wife had Chicken which wasn't quite as full. Proper veg with them too. Price was fair for what we had.

Best tip for parking is to use the overflow car park about 30 yards from the pub if you have anything bigger than a mini.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted
1 review
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've cycled down the canal path to this pub in the summer and it's a lovely setting for a drink and a meal. However, I last visited for a birthday meal with family on a Sunday and was very disappointed: there were 9 of us so a fair sized group, but they took the booking with no quibble. We had to wait 20 minutes for our table despite arriving on time and this would have been longer if we had waited for staff to tell us it was ready. The staff were slow to take our order and we had to chase up the order several times. We asked for cutlery and one member of staff simply opened the cutlery drawer and pointed to it without a word: maybe they have a competition to see who can get away with the poorest service? There doesn't seem to be a manager at weekends to oversee the restaurant so it's haphazard and no one seems at all bothered about or interested in customer service. It's a real shame as the food is ok when it finally arrives. Needless to say, the bill arrived at lightning speed. I won't be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I have to admit I like this one mainly for its location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The canalside location and the picturesqueness of the pub mean that it's hard not to like it. It's a reasonably priced, calm and traditional pub with an nice interior also. Sometimes it has modest scale events. I haven't tried the food having been told by friends that that's not much to write home about. Parking can be tricky on popular days but access from the canal if you are walking along the towpath is OK. Watch the traffic as you cross the bridge by the lock as it is usually too fast, and if you the gentle reader are one of the guilty ones, kindly stop!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited today with friends for lunch, booked the table arrived on time, friendly staff. Ordered meals then 45 mins later a reminder to the waiter as people that had arrived after us were getting served...sorry problem with ticket machine in kitchen, the same old excuse that has been used before after waiting ages for a meal and a mix up with desserts, wrong meals delivered to table.

You cannot fault the food here.....when it finally arrives.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location & good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife & I cycled to this pub along the canal and stopped for a drink & some snacks. The staff are very friendly and the location is excellent by the canal. There is a lot of variety on the menu and the pub has some great atmosphere being as old as it is, a must see place if in Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.