We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, a good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aubrey Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aubrey Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aubrey Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England (Formerly Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, a good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall this hotel is quite nice. Easy to get to, yet far enough away from main roads so noise isn't an issue. The grounds are quite nice, and it's close to a walk/cycle track if you fancy walking to nearby villages/towns.

Rooms are nice, clean and functional. The hotel has a strange layout, and some rooms are hard to find, not helped by poor signage. Wifi in hotel is very welcome.

Plumbing seems to be an issue. Hot water temperature and flow varies, in particular in the morning, I'm guessing when other guests are drawing on it. Not an issue I've experience elsewhere.

The administration of this hotel lets it down. I've experienced twice being challenged at breakfast time that it's not included, when I paid a rate that did include it. Once I was charged for breakfast separately, even though it was in the room rate. Once I went to check out to be told it had already been paid - another guest had been charged my bill by mistake.

Overall I think this hotel is good. It's not "very good", hence the average rating on here, but I will use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered above 267 (I think) are a pain to get to, due to the odd layout of the read part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
43
1
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked on a room deal for an evening out nearby. Reasonable price for just that purpose. Hotel looks ok from outside but interior a bit dated. However bedrooms seem to have all been refurbished and are quite smart so maybe they are working on the rest. We stayed on a particularly warm night so would've been nice to not have restricted openings of windows as no air-con. The different floor layers were very confusing and led to many a wrong turn. We didn't eat or drink at this hotel so have no comments in that regard. Reception staff were friendly & helpful. Hotel ideal for a stopover but probably wouldn't want to have stayed much longer

Room Tip: Rooms all seemed quiet with good double glazing, unable to hear the traffic from M1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not incredibly impressed with my overnight stay here. The food was nice but over priced (even though the company was paying) and the cushions on my bed had odd looking stains on them. Beer was reasonable but it seemed a real chore to try and charge anything to the room. The place looks very nice from the front, but out back it resembles council flats. We asked a waiter what type of fish he was serving for our buffet lunch to which he shrugged and said 'dunno' before slouching off.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this as a deal with airport parking for Luton. It is not a company we have ever used before and although we arrived late (10pm) the hotel had not been informed of our booking and were not expecting us. Without any problems the lady on reception assessed the problem, arranged for a room which by pure luck was their top of the range and only one available as they were completely full.
We agree with others on here that the rooms are a bit of a pain in distance and mapping but it was only for one night so I am certainly not going to make that into a negative.
It was, extremely clean, well balanced in décor and furniture and required nothing more than what was there and we agree that drinks were pricey, one large so-co and coke and one G&T over thirteen pound.!
However. Comfy spacious room, comfy spacious bed, complimentary free toiletries, complimentary free water, crisps and box of choc's. Relaxing bar area. Polite, well presented staff and free parking.
Shower worked really well, lovely smellys, lush white towels and decent loo roll.
Unable comment on anything else at we left at 4am, so missed breakfast. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Social-Butterflies

Thank you for your recent review. I have passed onto the team your great feedback about the cleanliness of the room.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the free upgrade and rest assured we are dealing as to why there was a discrepancy to start with.

I hope to welcome you back, this time for a longer period of time so you can enjoy the great breakfast we provide here at Aubrey Park, or a relaxing walk around the grounds.

I hope you had a great holiday and feel free to book through myself or the team next time you wish to stay

Nick.vincent@aubreypark.co.uk

Kind regards

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed on business and the rooms have no air con. The walk to the room was ridiculous with regards to how far it was. The food and drink was extremely over priced. Food was well presented, but the rate was unjustified. Staff were the usual mix of Eastern European and friendly. The chap who ordered them around in the bar area was nays and rude to them.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Brian M

Many thanks for you feedback. I have passed your comments onto the team and we will ensure steps are taken to improve the service in the future.

I'm sorry your room was near the back of the hotel but if you wish to return please let me know directly and ill be happy to allocate you a room closer subject to availability.

I appreciate the hotel room did not have air con however we offer the facility of a fan or a key to be able to open the window fully to let cool air in.

I would like the opportunity to rectify your stay and to offer you the high levels of service we expect here at Aubrey Park

If you would like to discuss this or anything else please contact me on Nick.Vincent@aubreypark.co.uk

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to have a short break here as we had stayed before for the first night of our honeymoon, 25 years ago and we weren't disappointed. Although the hotel has lost some of the individuality it had, our room was spotlessly clean, a good size, of very good quality and very comfortable, and the grounds are beautiful and surprisingly quiet considering how close the M1 is.
Check-in was welcoming, friendly and efficient and although the bottle of champagne we had ordered wasn't in the room on arrival this soon arrived courtesy of a very friendly member of staff. The meal in the restaurant was first class and the service polite, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was extremely well stocked and very tasty. Although billed as a business hotel, most of the people staying were couples or families and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel as an excellent base to explore the area - we visited Ashridge Forest, St Albans and had a day in London, easy to get to by train from St Albans or Hemel Stations. Overall a very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing stay, thank you!

Room Tip: Room 212 was very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_AubreyPark, Front Office Manager at Aubrey Park Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear DebbieJ

Thank you very much for choosing the Aubrey Park to enjoy your special day. We wanted the champagne to not be sitting in the room so it was brought up the second you arrived.

We pride ourselves on standards here at the Aubrey Park and I am pleased everything lived up to your expectations.

Feel free to contact me on Nick.vincent@aubreypark.co.uk to rebook your next stay and please don't leave it another 25 years!

Kind regards

Nick Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is OK. Some staff could do with a bit of training in the manners department and how to speak to other members of staff properly. One member of staff in the restaurant was incredibly rude to some of the other waiting on staff and was clearly having a bad day, one of our party was made to feel quite uncomfortable for giving feedback regarding the food and another for asking where the toilet was. We were asked to order our food upon check in and when i said i didn't want anything from the set menu they were more than accommodating in allowing me to order from the bar menu. Many of our party didn't have a problem with the food however the pizza was well below standard and quite pricey, i'm not sure but i think it was a frozen pizza and for the price was not worth it. The room was fine and clean (once we had found it after the assault course of a layout) and the bathroom was very nice with a good shower. All in all not a terrible experience but was spoiled by a couple of members of staff who should save the behavior they displayed for the kitchen and not in front of paying guests. Max on the other hand who was waiting on at dinner and breakfast was really welcoming, friendly and comical.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with someone who is not so good at walking or going up and down stairs then let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aubrey Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aubrey Park Hotel

Address: Hemel Hempstead Road | Redbourn, Hemel Hempstead AL3 7AF, England (Formerly Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aubrey Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aubrey Park has been completely refurbished under new ownership, being restored to it's former glory, with complimenatary high speed wifi throughout, complimentary guest parking for up to 150 cars,and many other new and exciting features. So,if you are visiting the area for business or leisure, 'escape' to the Aubrey Park Hotel where you can relax, wine and dine. Close to Hemel Hempstead, St Albans, Luton and Harpenden. London Luton Airport is only a short 15-20 minute drive away. If you’re looking for a relaxing weekend break in the Herefordshire/Bedfordshire Countryside, you can explore the Historical Roman City of St Albans, get active at the new Snow Centre or treat the kids to a trip to Harry Potter or ZSL Whipsnade Zoo. Dine in the Brasserie and relax in comfort with a drink in the Bar or on the patio. You can keep in shape with a complimentary pass to the nearby Virgin Active. Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Park, are just a 5 minute drive away from the Hotel located on the A414. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Aubrey Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hemel Hempstead / St Albans Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Ramada
Ramada Saint Albans
Saint Albans Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aubrey Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.