We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ambience lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paper Mill

Paper Mill
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH , England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 122 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice ambience lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had an excellent lunch here whilst visiting my Father. Really enjoyed the historic pictures of the old Dickinsons paper mill. Very enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    98
    48
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The experience of a restaurant is heavily influenced by the company you are there with. I attended a business diner with colleagues I had not seen for a long time, so enjoyed it very much. There was a large group of us and we had pre booked our meals so the service of meals was smooth and efficient with no delays. Watrons were efficient and attentive. The atmosphere and views over the canal are great. Food was average, and selection of wines and beer were excellent. The venue seemed very popular but not crowded as it is quite a large venue. Give it a try if in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonylees
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Curate's egg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I live locally, and eat here occasionally, and pop in for a drink a little more often. Over the year and a half I've lived in the area I've had a couple of memorable meals, a couple of real duffers, and mainly middle of the road to decent. The menu has changed recently, and is less expansive than it used to be, but more expensive, and the quality of food hasn't increased in line. Fried food in particular is often cooked with fat at too low a temperature, so sides like onion rings are often soggy, although generally indulgently tasty as a result.

We've had problems with the food, but to be fair, when we've raised concerns we've always found staff quick to deal with them, even if that only means some minor concession for the bottom line. I'm less confident that any constructive feedback makes its way back to the kitchen, or is considered by the management.

The bar downstairs generally has a decent atmosphere, and is a quite eclectic mix, often helped by one-timers - usually tourists - from the Holiday Inn next door. It all adds to the mix. Saturday nights can be a little more raucous, when Hemel moves south with its spray and bling. pre restaurant or club. Great, nonetheless, for people watching.

Bar staff are generally excellent. Particular mention goes to the small Kiwi chap who could teach most bars a thing or two. Other more senior staff do sometimes, however, display a tendency to serve large glasses of wine - and charge for such - when a small has been offered. This has been a consistent theme. Certain inividuals at this level can also be slow and forgetful.

On the whole, this is an asset for the area, and does show how a tied pub/restaurant can be both things reasonably successfully. It's certainly got it all when it comes to location - gobbing distance from the local station catching the after-work crowd, on the canal and so on.

Overall not a bad spot for a pint or a glass (if you watch the size) or a meal if you stay off anything fancy. Good luck to the Paper Mill, but please, get the kitchen's basics and bar management sorted out!

PS - the Scotch egg is pretty decent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lost it's appeal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have been visiting the Paper Mill for the last 7 years having lived in one of the flats at the Lock a few years ago.
Was always really lovely, great location, beautiful on a summers day with a different menu upstairs in the restaurant and a bar menu downstairs.
Popped in on Saturday, just the two of us but without a booking, asked if we'd booked and as we hadn't, was made to feel most unwelcome. Didn't seem to want our business. Seated 10 mins later and asked for soft drinks - diet coke (they served Pepsi - tastes totally different and didn't ask if I'd be happy with it) and a cranberry & lemonade which was two-tone as it was unmixed.
Menu seems to have lost it's appeal - not as appetising as it used to be and unispiring choices. Sharing platter of nachos to start but when it arrived, no side plates, just a metal tin a bit like a baking tray with the nachos in (tasty though), mains were only ok. Fish & chips - batter on fish was soggy, sausage & mash nice but served with "brown" greens...so they were left. When clearing the plates it was mentioned that they looked awful hence why they weren't eaten but waitress didn't seem interested at all.
Noticed that other tables around us were being offered " specials" clipboards on arrival - so who knows what extras they got to chose from but not offered to us.
We finished up quickly, asked to pay - bill delivered but took a while for somebody to return to take payment.
Sadly, not worthy of any tip at all and won't be returning or recommending.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food and ales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

food, seating, location - next to the canal. good quality menu with plenty of choice. Nice surroundings

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paper Mill also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Paper Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paper Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.