We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Down Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Down Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Down Hall Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matching Road | Bishop's Stortford, Hatfield Heath CM22 7AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked a 'special deal' advertised on Facebook (£99 for overnight stay, dinner, bed and breakfast). The deal was offered for use in January and February and has now been extended for March. Well worth taking up the offer.
Lovely, warm, luxurious standard room (upgrade offered for additional £25), which we didn't think necessary.
Comfortable King size bed, warm room, large clean bathroom. Couldn't fault the room at all.
3-course dinner included in the grill room. Lovely choice from menu. Relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant (not stuffy or impersonal) friendly, happy staff and delicious food, beautifully presented.
The only complaint would be about the swimming pool being in a separate building from the main hotel, therefore you had to go outside to access it. It would be a lot better (particularly in the winter months) if there was a covered walkway leading to the pool.
Breakfast served in the Grill Room again the following morning. Good selection from the buffet, not the best breakfast ever, but certainly not the worst.
The deal is a fantastic offer, for such a prestigious hotel. If you want to treat yourself to a little luxury at an affordable price, then this is the offer for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Down Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    335
    207
    114
    88
See reviews for
126
538
15
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a winter warmer retreat in this hotel and it turned out to be a mixture of very good and very bad. The bad first:

A balcony literally covered in dog ends
Hairs in the shower
Freezing cold room
Hairdryers that are worse than useless
A half-frozen apple Danish instead of the 'warm apple pie' we were promised as part of the package
Indifferent attitude when I complained (eventually offered free bottle of wine)

And the good:

It's a beautiful old house in stunning grounds
The restaurant - the food here is quite simply superb and the service was impeccable. I had one of the best meals of my life here and I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants across the world

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Down Hall here and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not everything you expected it to be. I would be grateful if you could send us details of your reservation (name and date) to info@downhall.co.uk so we can address these issues with the relevant departments such as Housekeeping. I will certainly share your feedback with the management team.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the Grill Room and I will share your feedback with our Head Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided on a last minute night away and found Down Hall Manor on LateRooms. We liked the look of it so booked. If you love character in a Hotel, this place has it all. It keeps in with the old themes and has kept many original fixtures and fittings. Set in gorgeous settings. On a down side, the restaurant menu has not many choices, neither does the bar food menu. The food and drink is also expensive. But, would definatly stay again. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments with regards to your stay, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of implementing a new menu in the Grill Room which will offer many more options to our guests. We expect this to be in place by the end of March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked the overnight stay to correspond with afternoon tea. On arrival we was told our room was room 511 and that the lift was out of order. The reason for the stay was a treat for my husband who had recently spent 5 weeks in hospital recovering from a heart attack. I explained the to the receptionist who was not at all accomadating . The room was lovely but unfortunately we were confined due to the number of stairs my husband had to climb. Not even a bottle of water in the room!! On leaving the next day we was not even asked how our stay was, yet again I find this unprofessional from such an established hotel. Lovely setting nice breakfast shame our needs was not met.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the location of your room.
Unfortunately, our lift has irreparably broken down and is being replaced at the moment, this is a lengthy process and we expect this work to be finished towards the end of April. In the meantime, we have instructed our front of house team to ensure that guests are aware of the location of their room and to be extra sensitive towards guests who may not be able to access to top floor rooms easily. Therefore, I am very disappointed to hear that our Receptionist did not do her outmost to change your room and I will raise this with the Reception Manager as a matter of urgency.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay such as your room and breakfast. I do hope you will consider returning to Down Hall in the future. If you contact Reservations prior to your arrival to make us aware of any accessibility concerns, we will ensure to allocate an easily accessible room.

Again, my sincere apologies and thank you for your feedback as this is the only way we can maintain our high standard of service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there for New Year's Eve with 8 friends and had a fantastic time. Everything was what was expected - would definitely recommend it - food fab ....... Lovely rooms, friendly staff, everything great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is situated in a lovely part of the country sitting in extensive grounds which are well worth exploring when the weather permits. We visited the hotel with 4 friends and stayed overnight on 24/02 with a special deal for a murder mystery evening. We ordered sandwiches soon after we arrived as we had missed lunch, they were extremely generous with beautiful granary bread - 3 slices, with salad leaves and crisps on the side, well worth the cost. Our room was enormous and sumptuous, very clean with all facilities. The double bed was very comfortable and firm which was perfect.There was a kettle with all the necessary tea & coffee making products, along with lovely biscuits. The bathroom was spacious with a shower, no bath but that suited us. The evening meal was very good considering we had a special cheap deal and the buffet breakfast included fresh fruit, a range of cereals and cooked breakfast.
The staff was excellent and very polite, nothing was too much trouble. I do not eat meat and a piece of fish was quickly cooked for me at dinner, also a pot of decaf coffee was brought upon request. I cannot fault this hotel and we shall certainly visit again, as we would love to explore the entire grounds which are extensive.
Even though there was a wedding, with reception after, being held we were still treated as valued guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Docherty,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will make sure to share your feedback with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Down Hall in the future.

Down Hall Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived late on Saturday evening. A beautiful drive upto the front of the hotel. First impressions of the hotel were good until we entered our room 206. The fire escape was in our room, so all the other guests on that floor had the facility to walk through our room should there have been a fire! In addition to that, it looked nothing like the bedroom shown on their website. This was more like the servants quarters! We requested a move as we were disappointed. We were offered room 209 but informed it was smaller. To be honest the fact we were tired we were almost tempted to drive back home to Norfolk rather than saying at the hotel! You could not swing a cat in the room. Our view out of the window was looking at a roof! I had previously booked this for my Husbands 50th Birthday in December but had to postpone it. I was just so pleased it wasn't a special occasion when we went as I would have been even more disappointed. When we went to bed that night there was noise from either the wedding or stag parties - floors creaking, doors slamming. You could even hear conversations being had next door! The breakfast was luke warm with sausages that tasted like "Sainsburys Value Range" which we used to buy for the dog! It's not very often we complain but when we did we were offered a bottle of wine to keep us quiet! We didn't take it. I am tempted to report the hotel for advertising the rooms on their website but giving people something completely different! BEWARE. We met a couple of ladies at breakfast who also had the same deal as us Wowcher but had totally different accommodation to us. Think twice before using this hotel.

Room Tip: Not 206 or 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Marks,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Down Hall, we are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your room on this occasion.
As Down Hall is a very old building, we have a wide variety of rooms and unfortunately it is not possible to feature all the different rooms on our website. Room 206 has been recently refurbished and many of our guests have enjoyed this room for its fresh decor. I fully appreciate your concerns with regards to the fire escape, however I would like to reassure you that it has never occurred that other hotel guests have evacuated by this route. When you addressed your concerns with reception, they were more than happy to offer you another room in another part of the hotel however unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked and the only room available was a Mini-Double, this is a smaller room as indicated by the name. This room is mostly suitable for single occupancy and I do appreciate this room was too small for double occupancy.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Breakfast with us, I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef who I am confident will investigate this appropriately.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, should you consider returning to Down Hall in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can ensure a satisfactory return stay.

Kind regards,

Anna Snoep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatfield Heath hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Down Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Matching Road | Bishop's Stortford, Hatfield Heath CM22 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Down Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down Hall Hotel is one of England's most established country house hotels. Located in Hatfield Heath, near Bishop's Stortford on the Hertfordshire and Essex border, Down Hall Hotel is 45 minutes from central London and also ideally located near London Stansted Airport. Dating back to 1322, this impressive Italianate mansion is an historic setting. The hotel's grand interiors, ornate ceilings and abundance of natural daylight combine to make Down Hall Country House Hotel an experience like no other. Down Hall has recently completed the refurbishment of 54 West Wing Executive bedrooms and added a brand new gym, sauna and steam room facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Down Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Down Hall Country Hotel
Down Hall Hotel
Hotel Down Hall Country
Down Hall Country House Hotel Hatfield Heath, Hertfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Down Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.