We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful country pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke's Head

The Duke's Head
High Street | Hatfield Broad Oak, Bishops Stortford, Hatfield Heath CM22 7HH, England
+44 1279 718598
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Duke's Head serves modern British cuisine in the heart of the quintessential Essex village. 'Village Pub & Dining' explains our concept perfectly. A warm, friendly, atmospheric pub, which happens to do excellent, locally sourced food! Along with friendly, helpful service, perfect pints and very good wine, this is somewhere that anyone would like to spend a few hours. Relaxing on our sunny patio under pretty parasols, with the children running in the garden or hiding in the quaint tree house or warming you feet in front of a roaring fire, with your dog by your side! Whatever the weather, a warm welcome is always guaranteed at The Duke's Head.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a little gem.great food very friendly staff and cosy. The spinach and mushroom starter with egg on top was truly incredible.4 of us went we each had a different main course and loved it- too full for dessert!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    47
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dukes Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice friendly restaurant with lovely food. Little bit pricey but you get what you pay for and its great for a treat or special occassion.
My only complaint would be the Prawn Cocktail which comes up served inside a beef tomato. Its very 70's and would be much better served in a nice bowl with some homemade bread.
Nice selection of beers and wines and the staff are very attentive.
Would go back again but the menu doesnt change much if at all in the last few years...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the best pub for miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Quite simply the best pub around for miles. We were lucky enough to get a table for 8 of us, and we all had a fantastic meal. the warm breads and various oils/garlic/salt etc were a lovely touch. Sunday roasts as they should be. Great Value

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matching Green
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fantastic pub, proud for it to be our company local! We first started coming here back in 2010 and the quality of the food and service is still great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great pub lunch, great food and friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is our second visit to this pub. We choose it because it is halfway between us in Norfolk and our friends house in Shepperton. The welcome was cheerful, the decor warm and cosy and the food was excellent. The staff were attentive, yet gave you lots of time if you wanted to linger, as we did as we met for a discussion. We all choose the cream of cauliflower soup which came with two really interesting breads. I then went for a stack of mushroom, spinach and poached egg with parmesan topping which was delicious. There was a choice of specials. All in all, an excellent choice and highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke's Head also viewed

Hatfield Heath, Hertfordshire
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
 
Hatfield Heath, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Duke's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.