We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTHY OF FOUR STAR RATING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beales Hatfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beales Hatfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Hatfield
N. E. England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WORTHY OF FOUR STAR RATING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel in March this year. We were impressed on that occasion and standards remain high. Once again my son his wife and their daughter dined here on a couple of nights. The restaurant Manager remembered us and accommodated our needs again in very accomplished manner.
This Hotel is in possession of a dedicated team of staff which sometimes is not the case in chain Hotels today.
My only adverse observation is in relation to the poor expel air system in the bathroom of room 47.
In conclusion we have stayed at a number of Hotels in this area none of which were poor but would recommend the Beales as the best option.

Room Tip: All the same thus cannot see any advantages unless one wants to be located on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so delighted that you have had a couple of successful visits to the hotel and that the restaurant team remembered you.

We have tracked down the bathroom extract fan problem to a blown fuse, which has now been rectified.

Do come back when you are down the A1 from the north east again ! It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back again.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    116
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
33
167
14
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Rooms were modern and comfortable, but I found the bed to be softer than I like. A colleague and I tried the restaurant in the evening at it was a major disappointment. The 3 main issues were 1. Food was bland and lacked any flavour, 2. Small portions and 3. Expensive.

Also, the hotel doesn't have a gym, but you can use the facilities at "Hertfordshire Sport Centre". Don't be fooled by the name, it's basically the Gym on the Uni campus.

Overall, I'd recommend a stay here but don;t eat at the restaurant. There's a mall across the road and has a load of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food in Outsidein Restaurant. Your comments about the food are the very first to express disappointment for many many months, as so many people rave about the menus and the cuisine at the hotel.

I can't agree that we are expensive, with all our main courses at just £13.50 but if the food was bland then I am of course sorry.

The Hertfordshire Sports Village is the largest sports centre in Hertfordshire, used by students of the University of Hertfordshire as well as by many local residents and businesses, and includes a climbing wall, enormous pool, and a huge gym with state of the art equipment.

It is free to use for Beales hotel residents, and just a 5 minute walk around the corner. I am sorry you did not like it, but many hundreds of our hotel guests have enjoyed the facilities during the year.

I am glad that overall you gave us 4/5, and thank you for your review.

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I consider that make sense to write few words about this hotel. It was a real pleasure to stay in this hotel (around 5 weeks). Friendly staff at reception, restaurant (chef Diego, Sumi and others), excellent housekeeping (Kate do brilliant job). Continue to do you daily job - you are the best. For management: It make sense to think how to improve ventilation in bedrooms. Really enjoyed and relax in this hotel. I don't know other hotel in Hatfield which may offer services at this level.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel after your extended stay in the hotel.

I am delighted that you got to know many of the staff, this of course is what happens in a happen when one stays more than just a night or two, and makes our job infinitely more enjoyable.

I am also so pleased that we looked after you well in every department.

We have air conditioning in every bedroom of the hotel, (the only hotel in Hertfordshire to be fully air conditioned in every part of the public and private areas), and have to have window retainers on the opening windows to prevent guests opening them too wide for health and safety, and security, reasons.

Do come again for another extended stay, and thank you for such kind words,

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights ( due to its close location to the uni) and found it clean and quiet enough . We have chosen it because of the good reviews here on tripadvisor and the local taxi drivers have confirmed that this indeed is the best hotel in the area .
The rooms were comfortable and so were the bathrooms , the only thing that I would have liked was to have a safe in the room .
The wifi in the rooms had an ok connection and the location of the hotel is very convenient .
Overall , we would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel,

It was a pleasure to have you to stay at this hotel.

Thank you for telling us that the local taxi drivers think we are the best hotel in town !

It is great to have a recommendation from the local cabbies, who get to hear all the gossip from all the hotels, via their customers in the back. They always know which are the best hotels, restaurants etc as their fares tell them !

We have safes in all the executive bedrooms at Beales Hotel, and are planning to install safes into the Contemporary bedrooms in due course.

Do come back next time you are over in Hertfordshire from beautiful Vienna.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely clean modern hotel. The rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms and very comfortable beds. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good and the breakfast was very well set out and there was everything you could ask for. The lift was not working when we were there so a bit of a trek with bags up to the first floor. however we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we looked after you well and that you had a pleasant stay with a good dinner and breakfast.

Sorry that the lift wasn't working - we took the lift out of service on Friday 27th September to re-tile the floor, and for some reason we could not get it back on that evening.

The engineers have been in today (Monday 30th September) and have resolved the problem.

Thankfully Beales Hotel is only low-rise with only one upper floor !

The lift at our sister West Lodge Park hotel is more temperamental, and there we have four storeys to cope with !

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Mr Beale. I don't know how you do it but well your staff are such a good team!
I've stayed at West Park which is by far my favourite but Hatfield is equally good and we went wild in the Galeria. A romantic weekend can be had at Hatfield it's superb! Modern contemporary so interesting to know about the artists and artwork. Love the history of the place. It's great and I have to congratulate you all on a great team. Lovely meals and clean pleasant rooms.
One suggestion dining chairs looking a bit grubby.. Maybe a darker colour next time!! But we had a fantastic time. Would stay again when we are in the area. But we will definitely be going to West Park very soon. Thank you. BEALES HOTELS are an experience not to be missed and offer great service and value for money! And no I don't work for them or get paid to review! Good service deserves recognition and recommendation it's not easy to find these days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow what a super review of Beales Hotel, thanks so much !

I am delighted you have tried both hotels now, both very different but with the same good service levels, motivated and caring staff, and both are the highest rated four star hotels in their respective areas.

There is not a simple answer to the question "I don't know how you do it", other than to give a boring answer that it is a lot of hard work by a lot of people (160 or so in the company), relentless attention to detail, and learning from our mistakes when we mess up.

Hotel keeping has become increasingly hard during this recession, and the advent of social media such as Tripadvisor has meant that we are always somewhat on edge these days, fearing the next review.

And unlike most organisations, we never close, not even for a minute in the year. At Beales Hotel we have been trading non stop since 1964 while at West Lodge Park, we opened our doors in 1945 and haven't shut them since !

We will get the dining chairs cleaned immediately, of course, and will look forward to welcoming you back to either West Lodge Park or Beales Hotel in the future.

And tell me sometime how it is possible to go wild in the Galleria !!! I am all ears.......!

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this clean pleasant hotel, but didn't eat there at all. For us, the area wasn't great as there isn't much to do around (that we found anyway). But I would imagine for London and conferences this hotel would be fantastic. The rooms were nice with all the things you could need, hair drier, ironing board and iron plus complimentary water and biscuits.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

Sorry you didn't find much to do in the area.

For next time how about these suggestions ?

1) The Galleria Outlet Centre and Odeon Multiplex is situated right opposite the hotel.

2) The Hertfordshire Sports Village has one of the largest gyms and swimming pools in the area, and free membership is available to every resident at Beales Hotel. And it is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

3) Hatfield House is one of the most glorious medieval houses left in Britain, still owned and run by Lord and Lady Salisbury, and you may well see them around the house or gardens as you go round.

4) St Albans Cathedral and city centre is only about 5 minutes drive away, well worth visiting on a Saturday morning for the market, while the Norman Cathedral is quite stunning. And the Roman remains at Verulamium, with the museum nearby are of national importance.

Anyhow, these are four suggestions for your next stay, I hope this helps.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beales Hatfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.