We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlestick Didn't Light Our Fire” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Candlestick Pub

The Candlestick Pub
West End Lane | Essendon, Hatfield AL9 6BA, England
01707 261322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 restaurants in Hatfield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Candlestick Didn't Light Our Fire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having read lots of good reviews, we visited The Candlestick with eager anticipation. Sadly it delivered less than it promised. The food wasn't terrible by any means, but the decor looked very tired, and several dishes were already off the menu when we arrived at 8.30pm on a Saturday.
It's very much a country location, a mile or so from Essendon (certainly further than the 1/2 mile indicated on the village signpost!), and surrounded by fields.
Everyone's food was okay, without providing any cause for enthusiasm, and was matched by the service.
Perhaps our expectations were too high.
I'm sure we'll return to give it another try, but we're in no hurry to do so.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    43
    21
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch for three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Traveled here to take mum to lunch after a recomnedation from freinds! Have to say i was very happy we took it on board and went. Its a great little pub set in a lane with great veiws accross the fields. Very good well priced menue with food that was much better than the pub norm. The main of Venison Steak i had was fantastic as was the home made Pear and Blackburry crumble. the two young women behind the bar were delightful helpful and just very nice!
As a Beer drinker have also to say the local Red Squirel Hopfest served up was tip top cant wait to go back Yum Yum!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, good choice drinks and fanctastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

In a time when so many pubs are being swallowed up by chains, the Candlestick was a welcome find set in the Hertfordshire countryside. As the sister pub to the nearby Woodman, I was expecting a good choice of ales (and wasn’t disappointed), but was truly impressed by the quality of food on offer. I understand that the menu changes daily but the common thread is locally sourced fresh produce which is evident on ordering. Given the calibre of food on offer, the prices are extremely reasonable and I will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice But Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went here yesterday with some friends based on the reviews on trip advisor. I'd also heard a lot of different feedback locally so thought I'd go and make my own mind up.

First imprressions were ok, country pub which is nicely tucked away. Large garden which appeared to be all front and led directly onto the country road, albeit the road is very quiet it's not ideal that there's no fence to stop children (of all ages) dashing into the road either after a ball or for some other reason.

Seemed to be a lot of locals there when we arrived but the service at the bar was prompt, friendly and efficient. The menus were pretty much standard pub fayre. Nothing to either get excited or disappointed about.

Prices for drinks were normal for the area but I thought the food was a little pricey for what it was.

Sat inside as the roast wasn't available outside and we also had some other traditional pub dishes (sausage and mash/burger etc) as that was all that available. Food came out quite quickly and seemed fresh but the reality is that is was pretty basic food that any other decent pub could and should be serving up. The fact the others dont is what sets this place apart...but for me that doesnt make it a destination place or particulaurly exceptional.

Overall, it's good at what it does but it should be as it's pretty standard fayre...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We went for a light lunch on a gorgeous summer's day and you couldn't ask for a more picturesque setting. There is a large pub garden and you feel you are miles away from civilisation. We had salads and sandwiches which were very generous and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Candlestick Pub also viewed

 
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Candlestick Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Candlestick Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.