We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They made my mum feel really special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatfield House

Hatfield House
Great North Road, Hatfield AL9 5HX, England
+44 1707 287010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Hatfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hatfield House is the home of the 7th Marquess and Marchioness of Salisbury and their family. The Estate has been in the Cecil family for 400 years. Superb examples of Jacobean craftsmanship can be seen throughout the House.
St Albans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“They made my mum feel really special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took my mum here last summer for a day out, as she hadn't been for years. She has problems with her mobility and walks with a frame but nothing was too much trouble for Lynne and her team and she was made to feel really special and well looked after - She really enjoyed her day and the buggy which dropped her off and picked her up made it so much easier to get around.

The only slight problem we encountered was having to queue for ages for tickets because there was only one person serving who seemed to be inexperienced, but other than that the visit was lovely and highly recommended, especially on a beautiful sunny day which we were lucky enough to have.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    108
    48
    13
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simply Can't Be Missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We specifically went out of our way to visit this place, after taking a train from London to Watford and then hiring a car to drive here. Hatfield House however, simply cannot be missed for anyone who loves Tudor and Jacobean interiors as I do. Starting from The Grand Staircase and visiting rooms such as the King James's Drawing Room, The Long Gallery, The Chapel, The Armoury I think my jaw was on the floor for most of the visit. The oak panelling, plasterwork, tapestries, stained glass, oil paintings, and furniture are simply awe inspiring. We spent well over 3 hours here, and I could have stayed all day except we had to get to Oxford by the evening. We will return next time we are in England for sure. The only drawback was that no photography is allowed inside this masterpiece. I dearly would have loved to capture my visit on camera!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delightful change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We took some time away from the busy city to visit Hatfield House, home of Queen Elizabeth I. This is a lovely country home, somewhat palatial but also comfortable living. We were able to leisurely walk through the rooms and enjoy the style of living present in the residence. The grounds were superb! We spent a significant part of our visit touring the gardens and took dozens of pictures. It is easy to see why the queen loved this place. It is somewhat of a trek to get there from London without private transportation--we took the train, and had to change at a few stops. However, the walk from the final stop is fairly easy, and the village is very nice. We ate lunch in the cafe, but didn't find much to our liking, and it was a little pricey. After eating we learned that there was an additional restaurant behind the cafe, which seemed to have better food. The shops were very interesting and we found a few souvenirs to purchase.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at restraunt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Food expensive for what it was. Presented well and looked good but the onions in tart were so full of vinegar that both my friend and myself could not eat them so that was very disappointing. On the plus side, staff were very friendly and it is a good place to go for coffee as parking is easy and there are some bargins to be had in the courtyard shops if you look around. Just a shame to food let it down.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Atmospheric courtyard shops and cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Since, the House was closed for the winter, we visited Hatfield House to walk in the park, followed by a lovely Sunday lunch of freshly carved pork, Yorkshire pudding etc in the cafe.The monthly Farmers Market was also taking place in the courtyard and there were lots of interesting local produce. We also browsed the antique, gardening and gift shops for Xmas presents. It is free parking and entry to the courtyard shops and cafe so it is a nice place to drop off for a coffee or meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatfield House also viewed

Knebworth, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hatfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.