We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Cock Inn

The Old Cock Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Cock Inn to your Saves list
The Old Cock Inn
58 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Harpenden B&B and Inns
bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely evening Saturday 25 January, nothing was too much trouble for ladylady Nikki. Having read reviews beforehand I can honestly say that the problems are with the reviewers and not with Nikki. She is a lovely lady, who, despite having a busy pub to run, took time out to sit, have a drink and chat to us. A lovely personal touch.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and all facilities are provided. Fantastic rain head showers. Abundance of gorgeous white bath towels.
Breakfast is sensational, cooked to order and extremely fresh. One of the best we have eaten in numerous hotels, b&bs.
We would recommend anyone wanting a friendly hospitable stay to book The Old Cock Inn. Loved our stay Nikki, thank you xx

Room Tip: A room at the back maybe quieter, we did stay on farmers market weekend !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    1
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
22
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had lunch, quite incidental, just passing through, soup to die for ! ! sarnie and haddock fish cakes for the Mr, absolutely lovely. Ps, the lady bar tender is completely nut's (in a good way). . . .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi amanda, thank you for taking the time to write a review for the pub. The lady in questions name is Trisha, she's a fantastic member of staff however like you said, completely nuts!

Nikki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Was booked in for 2 nights but left after 1 ... awful place arrogant cocky staff poor service and the food, well ..... if I said vacum packs and microwave to the fore you will have the correct impression

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Good evening James, we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your comments I can say that none of our food is vacuum packed and all freshly prepared. We work hard on meeting our customers expectations and therefore we would like you to visit us again with an offer of a complementary meal for two and with a bottle of wine. We have recently made some changes and work continuously on improving our service. Hopefully we can see you again soon and give us the opportunity to change your opinion.

Kind regards,
Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We've just come back from a one night stay in room 4. We had everything you hope from an English pub B&B - friendly greeting at arrival, warm atmosphere in the pub, cracking dinner with giant portions, large & clean boutique-style en-suite bedroom. The day after was an excellent cooked breakfast with cereal, juice, toast, fresh coffee and more friendly service. Recommended - we'll stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCockInn_Mgmnt, Manager at The Old Cock Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Macca16, thank you so much for taking the time to make a report about your stay here with us at The Old Cock Inn we are really pleased you had a great stay and you enjoyed our b n b and our food. We trust you are well and hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards

Niki and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great atmosphere and good hearty serving of traditional English grub. Prices are reasonable and the pub has excellent character.

Plenty of outdoor seating and very pleasant landlords.

Good selection of beers too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here as we were going to a party in the area, found the rooms really good boutique as it said on the website.
Rooms were very clean and quiet although we were told not to book a room if you were not intending to see the band when they have one just in case you wanted an early/quiet night.

Staff were really nice and helpful.

The breakfast which was included in the price was huge! and lovely well cooked and hot.

Would recommend this place to people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here for one night. The room is very trendy and has been decorated with a woman's touch. We have everything that we needed and the eye for detail is amazing. ( for example there were four extra large very fluffy bath towels just for two of us). And the breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. We enjoyed our stay and next time we are in the area we will be stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cock Inn

Address: 58 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Harpenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harpenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.