We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skew Bridge

Skew Bridge
59 Southdown Road, Harpenden, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 59 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great lunch in the sunny and smart garden. The menu is good and well-priced- everything from sandwiches and jacket potatoes to full meals. Service was friendly and all staff welcoming. The pub has been spruced up in recent years and I'll definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“average pub food - good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

limited menu, but reasonably well prepared, friendly young staff, and good value for money. Not a great choice of ales.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a great find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I attended a bumps & babies coffee morning here and we decided to stay for lunch afterwards and so glad we did. The staff were so friendly & helpful towards us all day. We had lunch which was excellent, normal homemade food and great value & great portions and we left feeling full up. The garden looks really good for the summer too. It's not somewhere I would of ever thought of going for some reason but would have no hesitation in recommending a visit soon.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went with family for Sunday lunch. Limited menu, but what there was was good. Nice service too, and good value. (Roughly £22 a head, including 2 alcoholic drinks, a pudding, and a coffee). Food very well cooked and presented.

A nice traditional British Pub. Few and far between these days.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We dropped in here without a reservation. The menu is limited but the food was good value. The staff were friendly and the the garden at the rear is very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skew Bridge also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Skew Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skew Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.