We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Harpenden

The White Horse Harpenden
Redbourn Lane | Hatching Green, Harpenden AL5 2JP , England
01582 469290
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Horse Harpenden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 58 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Went there on a Tuesday night, wasn't too busy. Lovely decor. We had the favorite board to start, good portion size and was beautifully done. My fiancé had the lemon sole and he said its the best he's ever had! I had the lamb, cooked medium rare, tender and juicy and came with seasonal vegetables. Very good experience, will definitely go back again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    44
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for pregnant ladies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself and my antenatal group spent every Tuesday morning enjoying tea and free toast in front of the roaring fire. Staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. I've also enjoyed the pub quiz and fantastic food. One day I'll go back when I find a babysitter!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good food with just the right mix of restaurant fair and traditional pub grub, simple menu well done. Every plate for 9 covers was excellent, great staff. We were even warned there would be a live band in the garden... Happily it rained !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor overpriced food in a nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Had been meaning to try the white horse again in ages to see how it is doing under current management. We went on their beer festival evening, the atmosphere inside and out was v good but the food both at the BBQ and in the restaurant v v disappointing. From a table of 5 no one could manage anything better to say about any of the food than it was ok and that was being polite. Such a disappointment as the bar and outside area are so good this place should be great but its just not. Service was more attentive than previous reviews would suggest until dessert when one of our party was served a cold dessert that was supposed to be hot twice before eventually giving up and sending back the cold dessert. I will leave it another few years again before trying here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Please serve us before one of us dies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have been here before but the service was approaching comical. We went on a Saturday evening and although there were a few customers in it was not busy. We were welcomed and shown to our table, drinks ordered and were delivered in a few minutes. We were waiting for other guests to join us so not in a hurry.

We saw our friends arrive and then be ushered round the corner, on following them through they were advised that we had not yet arrived and to sit in the bar and wait. Good thing we saw them.

We then waited for an age to order a round of drinks and even longer to get served. We waited an age to order & again to be served. You get the drift .......

Food was good if not a little over priced so all in all fairly average. Shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Harpenden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.