We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was hoping to keep this place a secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Harpenden

The Grove Harpenden
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpenden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grove Harpenden
Save
You added The Grove Harpenden to your Saves list
The Grove | Pipers Lane, Harpenden AL5 5AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Harpenden B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was hoping to keep this place a secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I fly for a living - often from and to Luton Airport. After years of staying in the usual dire places in the Luton area, I came across the Grove. Quite simply - the best B&B I've stayed in, Claire & Gary made the crew so very welcome and even put a sign on the front door asking callers to be quiet as we were sleeping during the day between flights!

The 2 rooms were lovely, with a shared kitchen. The Breakfast herioc, and the added touches made it a superb if too short stay. Thanks again for the hospitality! Al

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Al, lovely to hear from you :-)
Gary and I thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the private apartment, and Gary and Claire could not have been more lovely or helpful. We felt so welcome, and thoroughly enjoyed sharing their beautiful house and garden - especially our young daughter, who loved the fairy princess bed!

The apartment itself was simply stunning, but what meant more to us was the kindness of the owners themselves.

The Grove was a wonderful home-from-home, and we simply didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Joe, thank you for your kind comments. We really enjoyed having you all here with us. It was lovely seeing Amy enjoying the garden and we missed you alot when you went home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I have not stayed in many bed & breakfast accommodation, usually opting for hotels. After staying at The Grove for two nights, the only downside to is that we will be disappointed with any other bed & breakfast we stay in!

The owners seem to have everything right and you are made to feel welcome in what is after all their family home.

We will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear David

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Grove in Harpenden, and we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind reagards, Claire and Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beautiful setting up a private drive. Claire and Gary made us very welcome and gave us a choice of rooms taking into account that I am of above average height. We settled on the Blue Room as planned which was lovely. Tea and coffee were offered with home-made cupcakes which we enjoyed in the garden. Local knowledge was sought for the best way to walk into Harpenden and was forthcoming with a local map. The suggestion to stop for a pint at the Carpenters Arms was followed up. When we returned, we enjoyed a blissful night's sleep in the wonderful bedlinen. Breakfast followed with plenty of chat and discussion of Gary's exploits on the cricket pitch the previous evening. We left with suggestions and directions to our next destination and a discussion of their beautiful garden.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon. Kind regards, Claire and Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Clare and Gary welcomed us to their beautiful home and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, even when we managed to wake them up at 2.45 in the morning when our key got stuck in the door (mortifingly embarrasing for us!). They put us in their beautiful self contained apartment, which I have to say was as plush as any 5 star hotel. It was quiet, so well appointed and just a lovely place to stay. We are looking for an excuse to go back. If only every 'B&B' was as nice..!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Rachel

It was lovely to have you to stay with us. I m so glad you had a great time, and were able to relax and enjoy yourselves. Gary and I look forward to welcoming you both back soon :) Kind regards, Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I had a fantastic stay at this wonderful country house in Hertfordshire. It's tucked away with wonderful views but easily assessable and close to the town. Having stayed in many B&B's I have never experienced one as luxurious as this and within my budget. Lovely large comfortable bed, fluffy towels (not cardboard like one often experiences!) quiet surroundings, fridge in room with milk, stylish decor, large bathroom and so much more.....oh and delicious breakfast to keep me going all day! I'll be back with my partner next time!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your Review. I m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you ll be back to see us again soon. Kind regards, Claire and Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A truly beautiful place to stay with wonderful views and a luxurious feel. I stayed in The Green Room and had the best nights sleep thanks to crisp white cotton sheets and great pillows. Claire and Gary have created a fabulous place to stay and the attention to detail is second to none - the bathrobes behind the door, the fresh milk in the fridge, the fresh flowers in the room just some of the little extras that make such a difference when you stay away from home. The breakfast was superb and all locally sourced - I even witnessed my egg being collected from the chicken run! I will definately stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Grove Harpenden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Claire and Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Harpenden

Address: The Grove | Pipers Lane, Harpenden AL5 5AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Harpenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harpenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Harpenden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.