We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Mouth watering Lamb Shank and Seabass!”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Jeera

Cafe Jeera
Station Road, Harpenden, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 58 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
““Mouth watering Lamb Shank and Seabass!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

“Mouth watering Lam shank and Machli Jalpori!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22nd December 2012

Mouth watering Lamb shank (Sikonder Jeera Lamb) and Seabass (Machli Jalpori) the decoration, very fine presentation, to good to eat. The taste was out of this world! Ourselves and four friends pre-agreed that each of us will have something different instead of the regular personal favourites so that we can really let our taste buds roam in wonders. Indeed we were not dissappointed, we all agreed that this was a real find, a sort of London based idea on our door step but with out of London price tag. The Lamb Kalinji and the Tandoori Monk Fish was all very delicious and very satisfying. You could not fault the service although the restaurant was heaving with diners, a real buz! One would probably not believe that there was a credit crunch or reccession out there! We highly recommened it, although except to wait a little longer then your average Indian, run of the mill. The head chef (co-owner) came and asked how we found the meal towards the end of the night which i thought was a brilliant touch, this is very much Indian Novel Cuisine by far. We'll definitely see you soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herts.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Latest visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited the Jeera at the weekend. Enjoyed it. Service was good and food likewise. Sometimes the service is hit and miss and sometimes good. Luckily, it was the latter this time. Food whilst not stunning is good by Harpenden restaurant standards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Different for all the right reasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having attended a Birthday Party on a Sunday afternoon in a pub but where there was no food, three of us headed here for dinner based on a recommendation. It was a bit different to other Indian Restaurants but for all the right reasons. We all enjoyed our meals & had no complaints. Service was welcoming and efficient without being OTT. No problems, will definately visit again & recommend.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

As a family we have been dining at Cafe Jerra for a number of years. The food is consitantly good, try the garlic or tandoori prawn for starters (or the salmon dill tikka). The staff are always very friendly and we get a great greeting when we arrive.

The takeaway can be slow so order well in advance - better option is to eat in ther restaurant to benefit from the good service and ice cold cobra's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food, great service. Love the chicken chana, fantastic. Have been eating here for many years and never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jeera also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Jeera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Jeera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.