We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Sunday lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of That Little Place

That Little Place
5 Station Road, Harpenden AL5 4SA, England
01582-76-89-25
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
That Little Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 56 restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Large Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch with some friends and got exactly what we expected. Food was above average, and for what you pay you get a lot but it's no phenomenal. Service is good and friendly. The atmosphere is a little odd, I think for the type of food you would expect something more homely. It's not spectacular but would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    40
    29
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Does not get the basics right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch. Overcrowded plate, mushy roast potatoes, way too much undeclared garlic in roast meat. Service average and inefficient

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Never been disappointed here. Best visit recently was Sunday lunch just after Christmas- fantastic value, very generous portions and beef done just right. Highly reomment a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have visited this restaurant a few times now and can say that i've never been disapointed. The porridge dish is my absolute favourite and well worth the cost of the flight from Edinburgh alone.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Booked this restaurant for our pre-Christmas family get together on the strength of the reviews on here and were glad we did. We opted for the Christmas menu and it was a very good choice. The food here is first class, all freshly cooked and locally sourced. The menu came with a glass of wine or a bottle of beer included although not from their own microbrewery. Their own beer is very drinkable and quite strong! We found the service excellent. The food came when we wanted it, we were not in any hurry, and someone was always on hand should we have needed it. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Little Place also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to That Little Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That Little Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.