We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Day Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okka

Okka
62 high street, Harpenden, England
01582 763 975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An all day eatery with a Mediterranean influence serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (in that order).Because we are an all day eatery it means you can come with your kids (for bubble and squeak and a milkshake), you can come with your friends (for a carefully selected ‘Teapigs’ tea and slice of the drizzliest lemon drizzle cake ever),  you can come with your other half (for our  ‘21 day aged’ rib eye steaks and bottle of Rioja) or you can just come on your own, to enjoy a cup of our excellent coffee and linger over the papers. (Slippers not included).
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All Day Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 NEW

Whether its creamy porridge and a bacon sandwich on granary; a huge slice of the best ever Victoria Sandwich with tea or an evening meal of char grilled sea bass with warm potato salad you will not be disappointed.

This excellent small restaurant is just perfect for any occasion. My teenage granddaughter loves it and it was a perfect venue to celebrate my 60th birthday with friends and family.

Service is excellent; friendly but not intrusive. Iced water is served without asking and somehow without noticing your glass is just refilled. The restaurant is frequently busy but you never feel rushed and all meals are timed to perfection and come fresh and hot.

If you are unable to walk here there is often parking outside but for evenings and weekends there is a large free carpark at Sun Lane just a few minutes walk away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    101
    33
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

Very disappointed visit to the Okka cafe, I had heard so many positive things about this cafe. I arrived at 12:30 and asked the manager for a table of 3. There were 3 free tables. There was no welcome greeting or hello, he told me to sit at the back table, which I did. I felt he was annoyed with me for coming into his restaurant at lunch time. My friend arrived 5 minutes later with a buggy. As we were seated at a table for 4, we removed a chair and placed the buddy neatly at the back. We asked the manager if this was ok and he said it was not, the chair was in the way now. It wasnt and he angrily picked up the chair. Again we were made feel like we were an inconvenience. 2 minutes later another friend arrived with a buggy, my friend was willing to leave the buggy outside, but before we could discuss this with the manager, he had already said you cannot come in, there is no room. We decided to leave, I told the manager he was rude. When I arrived he was rude. He didn't care. I will not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
1 review
“Highly recommend ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great coffee and I highly recommend the mezze , best I have tasted since returning from a holiday in Turkey :-) . Good service great food what more could you ask for when dinning out .....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2 visits in a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booked a table for dinner several weeks ago, as we had not eaten here we decided to have breakfast to make sure it would be suitable for the parents who were coming to visit! Both meals were excellent, we were made to feel very welcome and will definitely return again in the future for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good central brunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Came here for lunch on Sunday with friends. Central location, with friendly staff. Had the full monty cooked breakfast - all very good quality, though the bacon was a bit tasteless.

Had a smoothie alongside - extremely good. Excellent value for money and they made a proper effort for the 2 year old in our group, so kudos to them. Service a bit slow, but the place was fairly busy.

I heartily recommend this place for anyone craving a decent brunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okka also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Okka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.