We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okka

Okka
62 high street, Harpenden, England
01582 763 975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An all day eatery with a Mediterranean influence serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (in that order).Because we are an all day eatery it means you can come with your kids (for bubble and squeak and a milkshake), you can come with your friends (for a carefully selected ‘Teapigs’ tea and slice of the drizzliest lemon drizzle cake ever),  you can come with your other half (for our  ‘21 day aged’ rib eye steaks and bottle of Rioja) or you can just come on your own, to enjoy a cup of our excellent coffee and linger over the papers. (Slippers not included).
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I visit okka quite regularly as its one of my favourites in Harpenden, honestly serve the tastiest dishes around.
I absolutely adore the staff at okka, such friendly polite helpful members. Not to forget the, atmosphere and extrodaneery good food! Its got to be a high reccomandation from me!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    41
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
herts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Why do staff ask if your meal is OK and then do nothing when you say no?? One meal was seriously overcooked ,not inedible but unpleasant but the response was a shrug when this was pointed out.If you don't like the answer don't ask the question. Poor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stopped here for breakfast a few days ago. In fact I had an appointment to go to, so I had a coffee and toast, and then came back later for another coffee and a proper breakfast - mushrooms on ciabatta with egg and topped with crispy pancetta. It was all absolutely delicious, and attractively served. There is a brilliant choice of breakfast dishes. At 9:30 AM and again at 11 AM on a weekday Okka was just under half full, and service was pretty prompt. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.
In particular I was impressed with the decaf americano. It was the best I've had in ages - rich and fragrant, not bitter, and with a wonderful crema.
Yes, the menu card was slightly dog-eared, but I took this as a sign of a busy and much-loved homely place, rather than a lack of care.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Used to be our favourite place. Now not so much!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was very disappointing. We haven't been in a while and every dish was sub standard. Service was slow slow slow. Menu's worn and tatty, tables not laid up properly and when we complained we became invisible. So sad to see what used to be a fab place for food and service go down hill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to go in Harpended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Amazing hospitality, great menu, great food. My business partner Billy Schwer and I regularly visit Okka. All the team who work here are really friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okka also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Okka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.