We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restraunt” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Greenman to your Saves list
The Greenman
Fownhope HR1 4PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“restraunt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

i visit the green man on a regular bases for lunch or dinner.
on this occasion i decided to take my brother for lunch with family for his birthday on monday 18th feb . i had to surch for a member of staff to ask about lunch no sign of a host. finaly shown to the main restraunt to a table in the bay window. a waitress came to take our drinks order at the table . on return she placed the drinks on table only to find it was wrong so had to replace.
waitress then took our food order. ordered 2 fish and chips a burger and a rib eye steak.
when food order arrived i had to ask for steak cutlery which should have been replaced after order had been taken. we started to eat when a member of our table found a hair in there cod which i sent back. this was replaced the cod was soggy pale and full of fat not the usaul standard for this place has always been good. the tables are made from oak blanks which have caps between them i could see from my table the metal supports to the tables were dirty where food had dropped through these caps. also glasses on tables were still dirty and wernt polished before being put on table one still had lip stick on. i was disapointed in the service and on this occasion the qaulity of food this is the first time i have had to complain has this place always had very high standards dont think we will be going back in a hurry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
64
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Greenman in Fownhope to hold our Wedding reception for approx 45 people a few days after Christmas. Everything from start to finish was 100% perfect.
Felipe ( Manager) made everything run smoothly in every way.
The food was amazing - very fresh, served efficiently, hot and of a high quality. We were delighted. The function room is beautiful - very tastefully decorated throughout. All the staff worked efficiently but were unobtrusive.
We held a Pre- wedding supper at the restaurant the evening before where a buffet of salads ( pasta etc), homemade quiche and sandwiches were served. Again - fabulous, fresh food of a very high quality.
Several guest stayed over a couple of days and the standard of accomodation is wonderful. Bright, tasteful rooms - clean with good facilities. The guests staying also commented on the quality of the breakfast.
All in all, the Greenman was faultless. We were delighted at everything - price ( amazing), high quality food, stunning venue, fabulous staff and service.
Unreservedly I'd recommend the Greenman at Fownhope - a true gem.
Thank you for making our 'Big day' so special and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Every restaurant can theoretically have an off-day. In my experience, the Green Man is the exception. I am picky; my guests are always exacting to the point of finickiness, but to date we have had no complaints.

My most recent visit saw a last- minute booking by telephone, on a Wednesday night. The patron was charming and accommodating, and the dinner was beautifully cooked and presented, accompanied by a thoughtful wine list and great service. At sixty pounds for two, when one of us had a rare fillet steak, I' d call it a bargain. Go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely building but terribly let down by the food,we ate here as part of a small group,and I have to say many were disappointed with the service,the price and how it was served.The menu was dire as only 3 main courses were offered and the menus were just mere A4 pieces of paper,no real presentation at all..We ordered rib eye steaks and couldn't believe they actually came out on chopping boards like I'd use in my kitchen! by the time the chips came out the steaks were cold as was the garnish,certainly not worth the money..must admit it was amusing to be dished out condiments as if the management were too frightened we'd use too much..very novel idea. Overall the experience was nothing to rave about and I will say...we won't be back for seconds...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very very dark ,and dull with dim lights. inside .. Even windows painted black or maybe dark blue, unsure as can t see..... zero atmosphere...far far too much emphasis on resteraunt service, walk in in the afternoon and tables are laid for meals, only corner table for locals and or drinking very off putting as soon as you go in..as you feel pressurised to eat immediately..you enter..
Used to be a very good pub in the old days...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautifully restored coaching inn with a warm atmosphere and superb food well presented. The fillet steak is to die for! We plan our weekends away around a visit to the Green Man and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Herefordshire seems to be such a sad contradiction in that it offers such a wealth of fine produce yet has so few places to eat to which one feels impelled to return; the Greenman is one of them.

It was recommended to us by someone who had not visited it since it was refurbished and he spoke very well of it as it was. We first visited a little over 18 months ago after its reopening and must have returned to eat there at least 20 times since, which surely speaks for itself! Were it within easy walking distance as it is for those who live in the delightful village of Fownhope and we could treat it as our "local", we'd probably be well on the way to bankruptcy by now!

Parking is easy and convenient; the location, close to the glorious Wye, is a delight. The refurbishment has been carried out with great imagination. The service is consistently excellent - efficient, observant and pleasant but never overbearing - and we are always made to feel most welcome. The Greenman is family run - and it shows - although I'm sure that we are far from alone in missing Ramon and Sue now that they're no longer putting in their appearances! The talented chef has never once let us down, his offerings being consistently very fine and occasionally excellent even beyond the high expectations to which the Greenman has long since accustomed us.

We have had about four stays there and, whilst Room 10 is our favourite room and is a decent size with a little balcony overlooking the always well-kept garden, it has no bedside tables and the noise from an extractor on the side of the neighbouring Wye Leisure Centre can be something of a nuisance and appears to be 24/7. Some of the other rooms are rather small and certainly not really best equipped for long stays (wardrobe space being quite limited). Bathrooms have been refurbished beautifully and at considerable expense, although some are a little cramped.

We had the most delightful New Year's Eve experience there almost a year ago and a Spanish evening at the end of last March was truly spectacular; a few more such special occasions might not be a bad idea - so, on with that thinking cap, Felipe!...

Overall, we are very fond of the place and have just booked once again for lunch in three days' time.

All in all, the Greenman is one of Herefordshire's real gems!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenman

Address: Fownhope HR1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel Fownhope
The Greenman Fownhope, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.